Home > Social Media > What is a “Mission” on Empire Avenue?

What is a “Mission” on Empire Avenue?

Every once in a while Empire Avenue does something new and exciting. The Shareholder awards through Missions are very motivating and successful.

A person or company on Empire Avenue will use a block of their “eaves” or virtual money to do a campaign, asking for other members to do an activity in order to claim their reward of a certain number of eaves.

Usually the mission is for 500 or 1,000 eaves. I have seen some for 5,000 – but that is rare.

The cash value of eaves is not that relevant, but if you were to buy 6,000 eaves with cash, it would cost $5.00. The reason that it is not that relevant, is the “power players’ earn thousands of eaves every morning from their investments.

The Missions can be almost anything. Here are some examples-

Insider Perks is developing and promoting pages and videos on their website on travel destinations. They do one or two missions a day to get members to view their page, watch the video, and use the buttons to share their page on Twitter, Google+ and more. It is fun to see their videos every day! Their missions are typically for 500 eaves each. Today they are doing a blitz for the holiday and doing many missions, one after the other!!
http://www.insiderperks.com/bali-travel-videos/

Dashburst offered 1,000 eaves to each person who viewed and followed them on tumblr.
http://links.dashburst.com/

Chris Pirillo often does 500 eave missions asking us to watch his Locker Gnome Daily report on youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/user/lockergnome

My friend Bob Warren did one today for 500 eaves just to say Happy Thanksgiving!
http://blog.resumebear.com/why-resumebear/happy-thanksgiving-to-you-and-your-family-from-the-resumebear-team/

Don’t be afraid of trying missions, it is fun!


Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
http://www.facebook.com/moveonbuckscounty
http://www.empireavenue.com/sallykwitt

http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. November 23, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    I thought there were only a few people who were eligible to create a mission, though certainly anyone is eligible to “do” one. I think missions are a good idea, but you have to be a major player to be able to create one.

  2. Wally Gross
    November 23, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    Great post Sally. I used to be on Empire Ave (you may recall) but it just takes too much time – at least for me as I run a busy business.
    I’d be interested is seeing another article by you describing what EA can do for your business and not just your Klout score. I could never really get it. I know it’s a great game and loads of fun with super people.

  3. Mike robinson
    November 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Hello Sally, that’s a good overview of the EA missions. I must admit, I do lok forward to seeing them and the ones that are more creative than others are the more enjoyable ones.
    I’m looking forward to running one myself soon,

    Best wishes,

    Mike

  4. November 23, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Great post Sally. YES the mission can be very powerful. I ran a mission asking the members to help tweet about our product and feature their XeeMe. It was a wild success – we had a a million views that day. Saving some money for a cool mission is absolutely worth it.

    Now we realized some just took the cash and never did anything. They probably didn’t know there are ways to check it but hey – we are still in social media wild west and everybody will need to learn – and if it is to be more clever when cheating *LOL*
    Axel

    http://XeeMe.com/AxelS

  5. November 23, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I like them however living in Australia I often miss out because of the time difference.. ho hum :-) Ric

  6. November 23, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Hi Sally,

    Thanks for answering a question that I’d been asking myself:)

    I haven’t ‘done’ my own mission yet, but I can see that it could be used powerfully in the launch of a new website or product.

    Thanks Sally!

  7. November 23, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Thanks for the update!

  8. November 23, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Sally, Great overview of the missions feature on EA. A mission/reward can be a great tool to highlight a business product or service or a not-for-profit cause. I love to use them to introduce people I have met and are offering a benefit/service that I think will be helpful to my shareholders.
    Thanks again for the great post!
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. November 23, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Hi Sally,
    I haven’t started a mission of my own yet, but have been overwhelmed by the “mission creep” on EA. Since this feature was launched I can’t seem to keep up with my EA In box!

  10. November 23, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Thanks the info! I’m so not savvy when it comes to EAv stuff!

  11. November 23, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Thanks, Sally. That’s very interesting. Still learning about Empire Ave, so I appreciate the info!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

