Home > Misc, Science > Today in Science History!

Today in Science History!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 1962 a laser beam was  bounced off Moon for the first time.  There are many mentions of this in just one line, and I could not find more details of this particular event even after a few hours of searching!

This is extraordinary to me.  It seems that this would be such a big deal in 1962, the marriage of science and fiction!  The laser was only “invented in 1960″ even though there were years of research before that.  They said that lasers were a “solution waiting for a problem”.

Science fiction authors had uses for various types of laser beams for a long time before that.  Now I have a laser pointer to play with my cats to wear them out that I bought for $1 on ebay.  Wow, things really do change quickly.  Some of the articles talked about young people harvesting cheap lasers to use for projects from old DVD, CD, and other devices.

I find science very interesting, as long as I don’t have to have anything to do with the math or the details!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apollo 11 astronauts left mirrors on the moon in the Sea of Tranquility to use with lasers in order to have exact measurements of the distance from the moon to the earth.

It seems like we are living in the world of science fiction all the time!

http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/apollo/missions/apollo11.html

http://www.spacetoday.org/SolSys/Moons/TheMoon/Retroreflectors.html

http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/SEhelp/ApolloLaser.html

https://lasers.llnl.gov/education/how_lasers_work.php

  1. May 9, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    Cool post! I bet your cats and you will have fun :)

  2. David
    May 9, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Thats neat, i would have loved to have been there when it happened. I bet it was one of “those” moments.

  3. Susan Critelli
    May 9, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    “It seems like we are living in the world of science fiction all the time!”

    Indeed, Because we are!

  4. May 9, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    And, you still can’t get a good digital video of the moon. Tried to take shots of the Super Moon on Saturday, and couldn’t even see the cape….

  5. May 10, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Had to smile at your thoughts on Science and Math. I was good unless I had to look through a microscope. Everything else was OK. We all have our limits.

  6. Cheri Riddell
    May 10, 2012 at 12:05 am

    Sally I am so with you ,science is interesting as long as you don’t expect me to do the math ! I found this blog very intriguing though I too would have thought there would have been countless articles on the subject .

  7. Rick Clark
    May 10, 2012 at 12:50 am

    Who could have imagined how important this would be for the removal of unwanted hair and tattoos?

  8. May 10, 2012 at 2:12 am

    Yeah, I’m thankful for lasers! Laser hair removal makes me happy ;)

  9. Mitch Devine
    May 10, 2012 at 2:56 am

    Lasers helped restore my vision (via Lasik) so that I don’t need to wear glasses!

  10. May 10, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    I saw this on myth busters of all places. It is one way that we can prove we actually made it to the moon. It was really amazing as I watched them do the experiment.

  11. terezalitsa
    May 12, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Nice post!

  1. May 14, 2012 at 2:32 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

