Home > Misc, Social Media > Getting to know people and making friends online with Social Media

Getting to know people and making friends online with Social Media

 

I am naturally a friendly person. I have always had a lot of friends.

You have to be a bit cautious online when trusting a new person, but you can certainly meet wonderful people.

The best way to meet people is on sites where you have something in common. Groups are pretty good at rooting out phony people!

I am in a number of great groups on Facebook, Empire Avenue, and ning sites like Brandergy.com. I love meeting people on IBOToolbox.com, too!

I believe when you connect with people on a number of sites, you get to know them better.

Sometimes you really connect with someone and become friends. That is special.

I find groups that are supportive in business, online projects, blogging, mental health, therapeutic, and more. I have a lot of health issues, and it is nice to know people that are dealing with similar things in their lives.

I know a lot of people use online sites for dating and romance. I am really glad that I am out of that category, because I think that it is a little scary.

When someone contacts me on skype or Facebook chat that I don’t know, I kind of test them out a bit. Sometimes they have no knowledge of the place that they say they live – HUGE red flag!!

You can make really good lasting friendships online. I have a small groups of women on a group on Sparkpeople.com. We share so much, and I have been with them for something like 7 years. Those are true friends.

If you are a young girl or boy, make sure your parents know who you are chatting with online!

For adults, be friendly, but keep your safety conscious part of your brain active, too!

Remember, if something smells off it probably is.

Other than that, make friends and have fun!


Bruce and Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
skype – sallylovesanimals
home office (267) 209-0558
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

http://122walnut.com
Take The 10K Challenge – 35 Min. A Day  http://bit.ly/witt10k
http://bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com

 

http://sharefreeads.wordpress.com

  1. June 27, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    Absolutely do I agree with this post! After all, I met you online and adore your social networking knowledge and your sense of humor. I have a couple of communities that I adore.

    • June 28, 2012 at 2:10 am

      Thanks Donna. I feel like you are right next door some days! LOL

      • July 3, 2012 at 9:03 pm

        I feel like that too, my sweet friend!

      • July 4, 2012 at 1:01 am

        Thanks Donna

  2. June 28, 2012 at 3:18 am

    So lovely post, friendship is so important in life, people with lots of friends are usually vibrant and live longer. Thank you Sally :)

    • June 28, 2012 at 1:26 pm

      Thank you Abdul. You are a wonderful friend that I know online!

  3. Joan King
    June 28, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Great job, Honey. Love you, Mom

  4. June 28, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Great post Sally! I have some friends online that I’ve known for almost 15 years now, and never met in person.

    • June 28, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      Yes, Helena, it is so much better than the old “pen pal” days!

  5. stringcan
    June 28, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Great advice, “Remember, if something smells off it probably is.”

    • June 29, 2012 at 1:31 am

      Thanks for your comment. I appreciate it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

