Home > Inspiration > My Life changes around the time of the Olympic Games!

My Life changes around the time of the Olympic Games!


I am not a sports person. I am not interested in playing sports myself, or in watching them.

But, something changes every 2 years when the Olympics are shown on TV.

In the summer, I watch the swimming events, the gymnastics, and other big events where they help us get to know the athletes. It is the people and their stories that I love. Feeling pride for my country, and feeling their thrilling victories with them or watching them cry in defeat.

In the winter, I love the ice skating and some of the other icy events.

After the Calgary games, they kept the facilities. When we were moving back east from California, we took a long way around the US and Canada. We stopped in Calgary for the day at the Calgary Olympic park, and it was awesome.  http://www.winsportcanada.ca

 

 

So, I have no interest in sports in general. I do become a partner with my husband in rooting for the US athletes, and a part of the world as we watch the most popular reality tv ever created!

We can all relate to the feelings that the contestants display, and can learn from their courage and perseverance.

 

 

What do I remember as I watch the games and the interviews?  Always get back to basics, do the work, and keep going no matter what. Shake off setbacks and you can win in the next event!!

If you want a good coach and mentor, and go for the gold – join our team at the 10K Challenge!

http://10KChallenge-Witt.com

__________________________________________________________________

Bruce and Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
skype – sallylovesanimals
home office (267) 209-0558

http://10KChallenge-Witt.com
Take The 10K Challenge – 35 Min. A Day http://ibourl.net/WittTeam

  1. August 5, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    You are so right. I admire these athletes for their dedication and determination. They spend a lifetime making themselves as perfect as they can, and what hard work!

  2. August 5, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    I am right there with you. I am so busy doing other things or working on my business that I have lost a lot of interest in other things, especially watching sports on TV. But when the Olympics come around I always make time for swimming and diving.

    • August 5, 2012 at 8:20 pm

      Thanks Clint. Nice of you to stop by.

  3. August 5, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Yep I agree Sally, back to basics and do the work is what I take away too.

  4. August 5, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    I like sports all the time and especially the Olympics. I am so glad that you are enjoying them too.

  5. August 5, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    Watching these athletes have the chance to represent their country is breathtaking. My favorite part is the medal ceremony where they get to reflect on their accomplishments while listening – or singing – their national anthem……

  6. Craig
    August 5, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Have not watched 1 sec of these Olympics….

    • August 6, 2012 at 5:05 pm

      Craig, hope that is because you didn’t want to. It is a shame to miss some of these historic moments if you are interested.

  7. Stephanie
    August 5, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    I couldn’t agree more with you, thanks for sharing!

  8. X
    August 5, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Wonderful article!

  9. August 5, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    lol. we may not play games but atleast feel proud of other sports men/women that are winning medals for our country.

    • August 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm

      Thanks for the comment Webacto!

  10. August 5, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Nice post, Sally :) I don’t see much of the Olympics, but I do see a few winning clips that are shared across the internet.

  11. vperriello
    August 5, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    I don’t watch much, thanks to NBC. I do appreciate the hard work and I do wish them well, with a slight preference to the American athletes… but I love excellence from anywhere.

  12. August 5, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    I don’t have TV, so I don’t watch the Olympics, but I find the olympians very inspiring and try to catch what I can online.

    • August 6, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      Great. Thanks for the comment.

  13. superstarbusiness
    August 5, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    The Olympics, to me, is the greatest metaphor in life – inspiring us to realise that set your mind and heart on a target – and you will change your life in the journey of achieving it ! It is an event which I feel has the potential of awakening the Olympian in every one of us ! :-) Abhjit

  14. August 5, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    these athletes makes me want to be them or someone like them who persevere against human physical limits.

    • August 6, 2012 at 5:02 pm

      Yes, we can imagine ourselves in them! Good point

  15. August 5, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    When the Olympics come around I make time for swimming and badminton. Fine article.

    • August 6, 2012 at 5:00 pm

      Appreciate the comment Christian

  16. milieunet
    August 6, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Great article Sally

  17. August 6, 2012 at 12:40 am

    well Sally, I am a “sports” person and I love watching the both summer and winter games!

  18. August 6, 2012 at 1:29 am

    Thanks Sally !!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

