Home > Being BiPolar > Another chapter on Being BiPolar

Another chapter on Being BiPolar

I have not blogged much in the last 6 weeks or so, I have just been too overwhelmed.  Thought I would try to explain!  My social media activity has been so low compared to “normal”.  I just can’t keep the same pace all the time.

The good things happen when I am on my way up from a “down cycle”.  I feel like I was sleep walking, and often was asleep for a long time.  I am just numb, and really cannot control waking up or making myself get ready to do something.  I stopped driving much a while ago.  I just don’t know when I am going to be too tired and lose focus.
Being diabetic seems to complicate things, because highs and lows in blood sugar have serious effects on energy and alertness as well.

I am still in a very tired and sleepy stage, but I feel hopeful that the turn of seasons to Autumn will cause a change to be more energetic again.
Most of the time, I don’t know when or how changes will happen.  I tend to go in cycles of 3 – 3 weeks or 3 months.  I have even had a time where I spent most of 3 years in bed not that long ago.
When I have energy, and am on top of things again.  I feel limitless.  Funny, but this psychotherapist in the video below uses a film called “Limitless” to illustrate Bipolar disorder.  I am going to have to look up this movie, now!

__________________________________________________________________

 

Bruce and Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
skype – sallylovesanimals
home office (267) 209-0558

http://10KChallenge-Witt.com
Take The 10K Challenge – 35 Min. A Day http://ibourl.net/WittTeam

  1. September 12, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    Sending lots of love and energy to you Sally — thank you for sharing ❤

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:02 pm

      Nice of you to leave a comment, Hudson

  2. September 12, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Thanks for sharing – takes a lot of courage.

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:03 pm

      I appreciate the comment, Nick

  3. September 12, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    I can help! Your problems are nutritional. Having diabetes, certainly you have been told this before. But nobody has really been able to help you… because nobody really knows what real food is. Well, some people do… but they are few and far between.

    I recommend you subscribe to “Mercola” (http://www.mercola.com) and read every nutrition article that comes out in the next month or two. By then, you will be brainwashed and completely changed in the way you think about food. Oh, by the way, getting brainwashed to wash your brain from the pollution of years of media bombardment is a good thing :)

    You have been so kind to me with shout outs of thanks and praise… forgive me for being so direct. I would love to do a “Google Hangout” and invite all who want to hear what I have to really say about this. You will be shocked at what you learn in 5 or 10 minutes about what you are really eating. Few really know. I would love to discuss the things that have entered your mouth in the last few days. (Doesn’t this sound rude? again, forgive me.)

    Feel free to contact me if knowing more interests you.

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:07 pm

      Hi Dr. Michael,

      Thanks for your note. I have read mercola.com for years. I have been through a lot, and don’t really want to talk about my nutrition anymore with anyone.

      I understand what you think, but the mental health issues are not all nutritional. In one of my “lives” before I had to go on disability, I was a hypnotherapist and energy medicine practitioner. Studied LOTS, and it really didn’t help me in the long run.

      The emotional aspects won’t LET me eat the way that would best help my diabetes consistently. If I could, I would.

      God Bless,

      Sally

  4. September 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Being a diabetic patient is the worst case in life, as we cant get/take control of our life unless with proper diet and we get too exhausted if we neglect. Hope you do well and be back in track

  5. September 12, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    Sally I hope your up-swing comes soon – Cheers! MrBill (-;

  6. September 12, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Hope you are fine and doing great !!

  7. September 12, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    It is good to talk about it thank you for sharing Sally!

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:39 pm

      Nice to hear from you, Michael!

  8. September 12, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    Sounds so difficult, Sally! Hugs and prayers.

    • September 12, 2012 at 6:31 pm

      I appreciate the note, Greta

  9. September 12, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    Sometimes, to me, it seems, there is a requirement on EA to do more each day, just to hold your dividends up. I’ve noticed an up, when I first start a new link, like using WordPress. I haven’t posted this week, and the divs are sliding.

    • September 12, 2012 at 8:41 pm

      Yes, there can be a lot of pressure on Empire avenue. If your divs dip – the investors feel like they can say something about it! LOL

  10. September 12, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Oh Sally, I do feel for you – I have a very mild version of bi-polar and find that when I am in the sleepy stage there is little point in trying to goad myself out of it so now I just wait for the upswing, like you are doing. I think our systems need it because when we are up we are firing on all cylinders! Thoughts and prayers.

    • September 12, 2012 at 8:41 pm

      Thanks. It is always good to have good online friends like you!

  11. September 12, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Wish you the best Sally!

  12. September 12, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    Sally – I don’t truly understand your struggles as I don’t wrestle with bi-polar issues. I do sort of understand because I am familiar with depression. All I can say is hang in there and this is a time where ”those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”!!

    You are beloved, whether on an up or on a down, and if there is anything we can do to help you on your way up, please let us know! (I think you just did, actually!)

    I know that for me, doing when I don’t feel like doing, is harder than I want it to be. It is also often the choice I need to make. Some days I make it. Some days I don’t. I never regret the days where I do make the effort to do the things I don’t feel up to doing!

    I also know that some days there is no talking myself into it, no matter how much I know that is the choice I need to make.

    Thinking of you. Adding you to my prayers. Not just saying that I am – but actually am adding you to my nightly prayer list.

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:38 pm

      How nice, Mindy. Thank you.

      Sending you hugs!

  13. September 12, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Very good video, Sally. Thank you for posting on BiPolar Disorder. The whole damaged goods rings a bell.
    I’m sorry about your sleepiness. I understand that too. Please take care of yourself, and remember that you have online friends who love you too.

  14. September 12, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I have not gone through anything like this so it is hard for me to understand. That being said, I do hope that there may be a medication that would help to “even” you out so that it is not such a wild swing of moods. God Bless and thanks for sharing. The best way for me to learn how to understand others is for them to be honest and open so that I can be more understanding and compassionate.

    • September 12, 2012 at 11:37 pm

      Thanks so much for visiting, Jessica!

  15. September 13, 2012 at 6:32 am

    Hang it there.

  16. September 13, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    thank you for sharing Sally!

    • September 13, 2012 at 3:42 pm

      Nice to hear from you, Lisa

  17. September 13, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Thanks for sharing. No advice – just a wish that you are able to experience the best possible life for you as you are able… each and every day.

  18. September 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    Know lots of folks dealing with Bi-Polar Issues and Diabetes… and there is a TON Of help out there… Bottom line it is a balance of Western and Eastern medicines and ways that I have seen work the best… Feel free to email me if you want to know more.. I saw your comments about back to the the Dr.’s comments…

  19. September 14, 2012 at 3:06 am

    Dearest Sally:
    I must admit I’ve missed you and am glad that you’re back to the place where you can communicate. As you know, I understand Bipolar Disorder more than I want to because of my daughter. My heart goes out to you. We’re really struggling with Hannah right now too (but she also has schiziophrenia and clinical depression) and I feel so useless. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to support you in any way.
    Rhia

    • September 14, 2012 at 9:21 am

      How nice of you, Rhia. I just wanted my online friends to know that when I pull back it is temporary. I appreciate the support so much. Hugs, Sally

  20. September 14, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    Thanks Lindy!

  1. September 12, 2012 at 7:13 pm
  2. September 12, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

