Home > Misc, Social Media > Some of us like to do Favo.rs for each other online!!

Some of us like to do Favo.rs for each other online!!

Social Media keeps changing.  New places to spend your time, new people to meet.  The basic formula for success is to develop relationships, and by providing great content and activity have your friends turn into fans!

Some people are naturals at wanting to help others in real life, as well as online.  That is the nature of Networking.  Not pushing, selling, broadcasting all the time like television advertising.  Conversations.  When you have the relationships, a certain number of people will be happy to help you.

I am a member of a number of groups across platforms that encourage this type of relationship.  They don’t always work because some people just don’t get it.  It is not in their nature to care about others.  They take and burn their bridges with the other members of their team or group.

If you are on Empire Avenue, there is a newly released service called Missions.  It was in beta for a few months, and is now opening up to everyone in a series of steps.  Once in a while you see a rant, because people are collecting the “prize” for the mission and not performing the requested service.  For example, they might have been asked to LIKE a Facebook page.

I did a few missions, and definitely saw that myself.  Not even half of the people that accepted the mission left comments on my blog posts in my experience.

I have always been the type to give first, and hope that people will be there when I need them.  Other people are the opposite, or somewhere along the middle.

The new website Favo.rs is great.  I love it.  It is free, and I hope that it remains free.  Anyone can post asking for a favor – a comment, a like, a retweet, a connection, anything.  People volunteer to help you, and they get points for doing so.  You can return the favor, or pay it forward to someone else.  It is very little stress in that way.

I posted a favor before Christmas asking for people to favorite and comment on a flickr photo  of my Christmas tree before it was decorated, and 14 people helped.  Then I asked the same for the decorated tree and 19 people helped.

http://favo.rs/favor/844  for this photo http://www.flickr.com/photos/drsallywitt/6517968567

http://favo.rs/favor/902 for this photo http://www.flickr.com/photos/drsallywitt/6528719769/

The people that help are happy about it, and not being forced.  It is delightful!

I sign in 2 or 3 times a day to follow more people, follow back new people, and help out with a few favors.

It is easy to use, and great for deepening relationships that you may have from other sites.

My profile is http://favo.rs/sallykwitt  If you are a member there, follow me and I will follow back.  If you are not yet a member, use my link to join  Invitation code http://favo.rs/~35wG  

I just joined a few weeks ago at the most.  When my friend Berrie Pelser joined, you could see the jump in membership.  He is always so great on promoting websites to his connections!!

As of tonight, I have helped 82 people with 121 favors.  Many took less than 2 minutes by using the buttons to tweet their info, and leave a short note.

79 people have helped me so far with 11 favors that I have posted.

315 people are following me (the smart ones – LOL!)

I am following 1073.

The numbers will change every day, of course, but I wanted you to have a snapshot of what this site has done for me in less than 2 weeks over the holidays!

Check it out, and if you are not naturally a giving person with favors, you can learn!!


Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
http://www.facebook.com/moveonbuckscounty
http://www.empireavenue.com/sallykwitt
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

 

Press This

  1. December 28, 2011 at 1:13 am

    Thanks for a great review, Sally – we’re happy to have you on Favo.rs!

    • ransae
      December 30, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      Thanks for the review Sally….Happy i am associated with great people like you…

  2. December 28, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Hello Sally, very well written post on favo.rs! Very informative, plus your enthusiasm comes through. Yes, favo.rs is “very little stress” and you don’t have some people just wanting to grab the eaves and run, as with empire avenue missions.

  3. December 28, 2011 at 6:16 am

    Hello Sally, thanks for sharing this nice article.
    All the best,
    Jorge Purgly

  4. December 28, 2011 at 7:15 am

    good article. as a newcomer to Favo.rs I am too excited about this network.

  5. December 28, 2011 at 7:48 am

    Great post Sally. You may consider adding “add this” to your blog to make it easier to like or RT posts. http://www.addthis.com/

  6. Nancy
    December 28, 2011 at 8:00 am

    I am new to Favo.rs and found this to be really helpful.

  7. December 28, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    As always, well done Sally…

  8. djgoddessa
    December 28, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Hi Sally,

    Your well-written article succinctly and favorably portrays my own experience on Favo.rs thus far. Happy to be following you everywhere I can find you because I love your energy! 🙂

    Love,
    Me

  9. December 30, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Great Post, Sally. My experience with Fav.ors has also been positive. You captured the “spirit” of the platform with your description. Glad to know you, hope we can meet in person in 2012!

  10. December 30, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I should probably get into this more if you’re having this type of success.

  11. V.
    December 30, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    A lot of people take real life into social media and the games like EA. If you look at it in that way, the gap between SM and life is closing in.

  12. December 30, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    Hi when I get some extra time to check out this site, I will. Thanks Sally

  13. December 30, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks for the info on Fav.ors.

  14. December 30, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I agree! I haven’t tried out fav.ors too much yet ..but I will! So many sites..so little time! lol! Praying you have the best year coming ever!

  15. December 30, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Thanks for this Sally. I signed up but must admit I haven’t really gotten around to it. Added you and will sure try to get involved much more. All the best for you and your blog for 2012!

  16. December 30, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Great blog – and an nice introduction for Favo.rs

  17. December 30, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Happy new year Sally!

  18. wayne
    December 30, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    That’s the way it goes. even if the reward was not offered you get the same % helping

  19. December 30, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I like it Sally
    Job well done

  20. December 30, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Hi Sally,
    Bestpay from Empire Avenue here. An excellent article, well constructed. Thanks for all the detail that you pack in. I’ve completed many Empire Avenue missions myself and always attempt to do my best to follow the requirement to the letter, it’s irritating when people take the eaves and run.

    I signed up for favo.rs, I know this is really bad but I haven’t really looked into it yet. I will do now, you have given me incentive to do so, I will let you know how I get on! – Maybe we could trade favors? LOL

    Alan

  21. Lindy
    December 30, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Have really enjoyed all the connections on Favo.rs and the opportunity to help each other out! Great way to build community.

  22. Louis Frayser
    December 30, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    You make Favo.rs sound really interesting, Sally. Empire Avenue “missions” was a good analogy to use. I really had no idea that so many people cheated, though. Thank you so much for sharing your insights into online personality types.

    As they say in Japan (at least my translation of it) Happy Years End!

  23. December 30, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Nice review, Sally!

  24. December 30, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Sally looking good great blog all the best

  25. December 30, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Looking good sally All the best great blog

  26. December 30, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I signed up for Favo.rs but haven’t really done anything on it as yet. Seems to me there are just too darned many great sites out there. Every day I heard about more great things and there’s only so much time to check them out an play with them.

  27. mandyf
    December 30, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Very nicely done and thanks for sharing!

  28. December 30, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    Sally I too like Favo.rs. I find it a great way to pay it forward and when the time is right, I will ask for a favo.r and get help in return. The best part is I can choose what types of things I will do based on my social media audience.

  29. December 30, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    I am a huge supporter of cross marketing and favo.rs is one of my favorite methods of accomplishing a good cross marketing strategy.

  30. December 30, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Happy New Year. The Amazing and Joyous part of Giving , to Me , is that i have no expectation of a Return . While I too take part in Missions on EA , I would never do one that REQUIRED someone to do something in return . Favo.rs will work for that reason . Missions are often too much like buying Votes or when you Read , Someone wants a Like , that you don’t like . Note the biggest Players on missions NEVER Require , generally ask . Smart folks . People who whine after they give , ought to not give . The Whining takes away the pleasure and spirit of giving .

  31. December 30, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Like the graphics on this post Sally. I am over there but kind of confused, which is the case with buffer as well. I just joined yesterday Kred and Wahooly – some interesting names for these sites.

    I will spend some time this weekend checking this site out and doing some favors, as I think I now know how to accept them.

  32. Aviva
    December 30, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Sally, A very warm greetings to you and your blog! Not everybody is caring for others before he cares for himself. I appreciate every word you wrote,

    Aviva Burstein

  33. December 30, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Thanks Sally, after read your article I think I have to try it too :-))

  34. Elsa
    December 30, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Like the article

  35. December 30, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Hi Sally. Thanks for sharing!

  36. December 30, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Thank-you very much, Sally – I am really interested in this.
    I have only been using social media since April. I was told that if I wanted to boost my website, I needed to be on twitter and facebook. And there are plenty of people out there who never get beyond that, you are quite right.

    But something magical happened to me. Two women bloggers took me under their wing and promoted my blog, because they liked what I was trying to do. Readership increased, membership of the forum increased, I started reading more blogs and became involved in the lives of many bloggers whom I now consider friends. I am helping two newcomers at the moment, commenting on and tweeting about their blogs.

    It has been a marvellous experience for me – there are many many giving and generous people out there who I have met in 8 months and I fully expect 2012 to be the same.

    Now to try favo.rs!

  37. December 30, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I had not heard of favors and am just getting my feet wet with Empire Ave. thank you for the link and great info!

  38. December 30, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Excellent Sally! Thanks for sharing!

  39. Ionut Popa
    December 30, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    This seems like a pretty nice service. I’ve joined last week. Now let’s see how easy it is to make friends 🙂

  40. Anne Thomas
    December 30, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Thanks for sharing Sally 🙂 Enjoying favor.s so far..

  41. December 30, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Thanks for the heads up on Favo.rs, Sally. I’ll check it out!

    You make a good point about the Eaves missions. It’s a good addition to the site, but it is too easy for the missions to not be followed through on. It will be interesting to see if it changes over time.

  42. December 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Thanks for the review, Sally!

  43. December 30, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    First we’d heard of it. Thanks for sharing!

  44. December 30, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Thanks for the info. I have joined via your link and will look forward to exploring the site.

  45. edeadpoets
    December 30, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Sally great post. I love favors and have been neglecting it. Will put in some time!

  46. December 30, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    You are so right on about natural givers… It is such a blessing to know them. I wasn’t aware of Fav.ors… thanks for the heads up and thanks for the support over the years!

    Happy New Year!
    LOVE
    Deb
    GutZy Woman

  47. December 30, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Gabriella was telling me she just joined. Thanks for more info. I will definitely head over and get signed up using your link.

  48. December 30, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Always enjoy your articles Sally. Inspiring and thought provoking. Relationships are very important in business and in life! I have enjoyed meeting you and others through the EmpireAve platform and other social sites as well. Looking forward to nurturing these connections and will always try to do my part to ‘give back’. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  49. December 31, 2011 at 12:45 am

    Sounds like a great way to network and link-build, quickly. Thank you for the invitation code!

  50. December 31, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Sally I am there and loving it. My new years resolution is to ask for help and I love to give it. Great to be connected with you there.

  51. December 31, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Sally I am there and loving it. My new years resolution is to ask for help and I love to give it. Great to be connected with you there.

  52. January 1, 2012 at 10:20 am

    Great post Sally and you know that I agree 100% with this part:

    “I am a member of a number of groups across platforms that encourage this type of relationship. They don’t always work because some people just don’t get it. It is not in their nature to care about others. They take and burn their bridges with the other members of their team or group.”

  53. January 3, 2012 at 7:18 am

    I really like your writing style, good information, appreciate it for putting up : D.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

