Home > Animals, Misc > I LOVE Animals! Big Cat Falls at thePhiladelphia Zoo

I LOVE Animals! Big Cat Falls at thePhiladelphia Zoo

Bruce and I were able to visit the Philadelphia Zoo over the Christmas holidays on December 26, 2011. I love to visit animals any time of year!

I really hate crowds, so visiting places off season has always been great for me.

Some people are against zoos, and I am sorry that the animals are not free.  However, nature is not always safe and perfect for animals.  A lot of zoo animals were rescued.  I think that the more education, research, and breeding that is done to help animals survive, the better!

I will share more another time, I know that you can only take so much at a shot!  LOL

I love all the big cats, but am particularly fond of the Tigers!

http://www.philadelphiazoo.org/zoo/Zoo-Habitats/Big-Cat-Falls.htm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Lions!

 

My kitties at home!

Mickey on my bed - her natural habitat!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Luna at the window

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sally K Witt

Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
http://www.facebook.com/moveonbuckscounty
http://www.empireavenue.com/sallykwitt
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

 

  1. January 4, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    what’s up with the flowering trees there in the zoo video of the lions?? I know it has been relatively warm here, but blossoming trees?

  2. January 4, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    Love those big cats – and the little ones, too! Thanks for sharing.

  3. January 4, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Those last two look particularly ferocious.

  4. Rick Clark
    January 4, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    Anything that brings the plight of endangered species into view is number one in my book. It’s not too late to become better stewards of this planet!

  5. January 4, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    What awesome pics. Thanks for sharing, Sally!

  6. January 5, 2012 at 3:34 am

    Great photos – thanks for sharing.

  7. January 5, 2012 at 4:52 am

    I can understand the ambivalence about zoos, but I think they serve a useful purpose when run well and humanely. (Rick’s point about stewardship is also well taken.) And I’m with you about going off-season to avoid the crowds!

  8. Judith Hand
    January 5, 2012 at 10:09 am

    That was an uplifting way to start my day, thanks. I love animals, and zoos. The closest to me is a struggle because of the distance and it’s hard for me to drive that far (disability issues). But I will be going. I also love the big cats. But the creatures that draw me are the monkeys. I get such a hoot watching them I could sit there for hours.
    As far as those having problems with zoos, I thought I’d run into that when on my homepage website whose focus is rights of humans, animals, (issues of education,science, etc., etc.) – the largest petition site in the world. An animal had been stolen from q zoo, was found and was returned to the zoo to receive medicine, food, etc. I expected long comments about the return to the zoo but was pleasantly surprised to find that most comments were supportive.
    Thanks for the blog!

  9. January 6, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    I’m a cat lover…and apparently big cats too! And for the most part I don’t like crowds either unless it’s a special occasion. Looks like you had good weather!

  10. January 7, 2012 at 1:32 am

    Love the jaguar cub, has a much bigger exhibit than the male adult Jaguar here in LA. The LA Zoo closes only Dec 25th and we went on the 24th and it was empty.

  11. January 7, 2012 at 6:23 am

    I love cats. Thanks for sharing this post. Haven’t been to a zoo in a while 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

