Home > Misc > State of the Union Watching Party in Bucks County, PA

State of the Union Watching Party in Bucks County, PA

found at dc.streetsblog.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 of us gathered at Lynda Mintz’s house in Bensalem last night to watch President Obama speak to the nation last night!


This is a dedicated group combining Moveon.org, Penn Action, and Obama For America members.  Many other members watched the President from home with their families.

 

  1. January 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    What did you think of the speech overall Sally?

    • January 25, 2012 at 8:19 pm

      I loved it. A little worried about the environment with the energy development. We need energy, it is a dilemma. I was so proud of all the points and the way that he presented them. I could not watch the opinions of the R’s. Makes me too upset.

  2. January 25, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    As always, looks like you had a great time.

  3. January 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    I just love it when communities come together!

  4. Judy
    January 25, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    I have so much respect for the guy (and I say that with no disrespect, nor do I think he’d take it that way; I campaigned for him, too). Fun, that you folks had the ‘party’ to watch it. I tend to call one of my brothers in another State who’s in politics (same party). We agreed that it was a good speech. He was getting ready to hear the rebuttal. I told him I simply couldn’t – it just makes me crazy!
    Also great, for me, to feel in touch with Northerners’ input. I’ve been in the South for over 2 decades and it still doesn’t compute. Thanks for sharing it!

    • January 25, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      Judy, I love that you read my blog and leave me comments. Thank you!! You are the only person who is not family that I have stayed in touch with from my youth in Connecticut. Love you.

      • Judy
        January 26, 2012 at 7:02 am

        ; – )

  5. January 25, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Never thought about having a party to watch this, but I thought the President did a great job and said exactly what needed to be said.

  6. January 25, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    Thanks for sharing Sally!

  7. January 25, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    Interesting indeed

  8. phoenix143
    January 26, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Awesome party with the president. Looked like fun.

  9. January 26, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    As an Independent, I find it fascinating and revealing that those who support the President can’t bother to watch a brief rebuttal to hear the other side.

    • Judy
      January 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm

      Hi, Mitch:
      Interesting point. I’m also an Independent, though registered Democrat for the privilege of voting in the Primary. One thing that I’ve noticed during Obama’s presidency is that the Republicans’ comments are mostly ‘canned’, moreso than any time I can remember over the years from either side. Obama’s address was so beautiful and in many ways inspirational and brought out unexpected avenues. For me, it deserved to stand on its own. I didn’t want to hear a canned response that wasn’t truly a rebuttal…and I’m watching my blood pressure.

      • January 27, 2012 at 2:24 am

        Hi Judy, I can understand wanting to keep your blood pressure down. And you can certainly tune out whatever you like. But I don’t see how you can prejudge something as “canned” and say it’s not “truly” a rebuttal when you didn’t even watch it.

  10. Judy
    January 27, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Hey, Mitch:

    Experience, oerhaps? Nevertheless, touche’.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

