Home > Misc > Lots of Love for St. Patrick’s Day!

Lots of Love for St. Patrick’s Day!

I LOVE ST.  PATRICK’S DAY!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They say that everyone is a little bit Irish for St. Patrick’s Day, and I am glad.  The music, the food, the culture, the dance.  It is good to be Irish!

Some of my favorites in the food department – Corned Beef and Cabbage, Irish Soda Bread, Lamb Stew, all kinds of potatoes, and Potato Bread.

 

 

 

 

Good Looking Recipe for Corned Beef and Cabbage from All Recipes.com

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/corned-beef-and-cabbage-i/

Irish music with beautiful young girls dancing:

The History of Ireland and it’s culture is diverse and deep.  Unfortunately, there has been violence and civil war which included a division between Protestants and Catholics.  Not including the Civil War, the Northern Irish conflicts have resulted in the deaths of over 3,000 people due to terrorist acts.

http://www.infoplease.com/spot/northireland1.html

Irish people have been openly discriminated against in the British Isles and the United States over generations.   As immigrants looked for work here in the states, “No Irish Need Apply” was a common occurrence.  Many Irish people did not find the American Dream because they could not find work except for Cooks, Housekeepers, and other servants to the wealthy.

Even more specifically, a group of people called the Irish Travellers endure a continued persecution as they have for centuries.  They might be compared to the gypsies in other European countries.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-Irish_sentiment

Today is a day to celebrate the rich Celtic culture of the Irish, and to hopefully lay the negative to rest.

St. Patrick’s Day was originally set to celebrate the Patron Saint of Ireland and the arrival of Christianity to the people of Ireland.  Eventually, it became a general celebration of the Irish culture.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saint_Patrick’s_Day

Huge Parades and celebrations will be held in many countries, and around the USA.  Because the holiday falls on a Saturday this year, it will be even more exciting to celebrate on the actual day!  We live near Philadelphia, and they have a huge day long celebration.  New York goes wild as well.

Alcohol is a big part of the parties and celebrations.  Be SAFE and have a wonderful St. Patrick’s Day!

Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
https://bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com
http://sallykwitt.blogspot.com
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. March 17, 2012 at 9:22 am

    love the dance and music!

  2. March 17, 2012 at 9:25 am

    Happy St Patrick’s Day! Love to help you spread the LOVE!!

  3. March 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Thanks for sharing Sally 🙂

  4. March 17, 2012 at 9:29 am

    Great post Sally, I especially like the Video. Too much violence over the centuries I agree, but unfortunately people have used religion to start wars all over the world. I’m glad people in Ireland are now at peace. I have a few Irish friends in LA and I love to hear them talk.

  5. March 17, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Happy St Patrick’s Day to you

  6. March 17, 2012 at 9:32 am

    I could just post my name here – that would be irish enough! Enjoyed the post, Sally. Happy St. Pat’s everyone!

  7. March 17, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Thank you Sally.

  8. Le Vagabond
    March 17, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Happy St Patrick’s Day

  9. March 17, 2012 at 9:38 am

    St. Paddy’s Day has always been a lot of fun for me. Even after I quit drinking, I still have a lot of fun, the only difference is, I can remember all the fun I have had. 😉

  10. March 17, 2012 at 9:40 am

    Enjoy your St Patrick Day Sally!

  11. March 17, 2012 at 9:40 am

    Happy St Patrick’s Day to you Sally! We are not familiar with this celebration here, anyway thanks for sharing though…:-)

  12. March 17, 2012 at 9:46 am

    As best as I can tell, my great great grandfather came to Boston around the time of the famine. He married a girl with long roots in the Massachusetts Bay Colony. So, I’m probably about 6% Irish, and we never really celebrated St. Patrick’s Day. My wife, comes from much more recent Irish stock, and St. Patrick’s Day has always been important to her family. We’ll have Corned Beef this evening.

    I hope everyone has a great St. Patrick’s Day, no matter how Irish they are!

  13. March 17, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Joyeuse Saint Patrick !

  14. March 17, 2012 at 9:50 am

    St. Patrick’s Day is one of my favorites as well. No presents to buy or family gatherings you “must” attend. Just good food, parades, and friends.

  15. March 17, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Reblogged this on lastbabyboomer.

  16. March 17, 2012 at 9:57 am

    Hey, Sally!
    Corned beef and cabbage is a must at our house! I watched the Celtic Girls last night. With a name like Erin Patrick, everyone assumes that I’m Irish (which I’m not), but I celebrate like I am!! :0)
    Erin

  17. March 17, 2012 at 10:00 am

    I’m 1/4 Irish and sadly I forgot today was my day 🙂 Better get to finding some green before someone pinches me! 🙂

  18. March 17, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Corned Beef and Cabbage Mmmmmmm.. My great grand parents where from Ireland and I wouldn’t miss the festivities for all the gold at the end of a rainbow… Thanks Sally..

  19. March 17, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Everyone is Irish today, have traveled from Dublin to Castletown Barre, more pubs than gas stations along the way, kissed the Blarney Stone, (which bestows the curse of eloquence), took me years to get over; “will you get to the point -you take so long to tell a story.” Love Ireland All beautiful

  20. March 17, 2012 at 10:22 am

    My 9 time great grandfather William Odom was born in Dublin in 1602. He came to America as a indentured servant in 1623. Not sure how Irish that makes me but is does make me 100% American.

  21. dl101
    March 17, 2012 at 10:36 am

    A wonderful day indeed. Must say, I’m really looking forward to the Irish stew my son is cooking. Have a fun day!

  22. MesaBoogie
    March 17, 2012 at 10:38 am

    thank you ))

  23. tjy
    March 17, 2012 at 10:54 am

    nice info

  24. March 17, 2012 at 11:04 am

    I love the dance and music…but then again, I’m a Celt (though the ‘other’ type (Welsh)!

  25. mithuhassan
    March 17, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Thanks for sharing Sally; as I wasn’t well aware !!

  26. March 17, 2012 at 11:11 am

    What a feast! St. Patrick was certainly a man to remember for many reasons but mostly for bringing civility to a land in need.

  27. March 17, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Great post Sally! We’re celebrating early here with some homemade lofthouse cookies w/ green frosting 🙂

  28. Shari Larsen
    March 17, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    Love that kind of dancing.

  29. March 17, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Thanks for the Reminders…….I am so looking forward to celebrating today……………….

  30. March 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    I got my IRELAND shirt on!

  31. March 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    Nice round up of all things St Paddy’s day. Like it alot (and my history needed a bit of a refresh)

  32. March 17, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    On St. Patrick’s Day, I think of my great-grandfather Gleeson who immigrated to the U.S. from County Clare in Ireland in the 1880s. ; )

  33. Joan King
    March 17, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Hi Honey,
    I love your post today! How nice to see all of the comments. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!! Love you, Mom

  34. Mindy Koch
    March 17, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    Reblogged this on Mindy Koch's WPcom Blog and commented:
    Love this St. Patrick’s day post by Sally!! 🙂

  35. salah286
    March 17, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Happy St Patrick Day

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

