Home > Being BiPolar, Misc > Being BiPolar

Being BiPolar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the most confusing things for me, with my Bipolar condition is to remember my limitations.  And be ok with them.

Sometimes I am Superwoman!  Sometimes I can do anything!  Maybe an hour later, or a day, or a week, I am greatly limited by emotions and/or physical issues.  I can become emotionally paralyzed.  I can be bedridden for days or weeks or sometimes months.

I have learned to be really careful with commitments.  It is disheartening to have to “quit” or back off after being sure that I can do something.  I cannot predict the future for myself.

I have not been working for years because of my disabilities, but even helping a friend with babysitting, or committing to volunteer activities is tough.

When things do work out and I feel good it is wonderful!

Now that Spring is in the air, when I feel well enough, I take a walk with my husband and my dog.  I have tried to go by myself with my dog, but that doesn’t last more than a day at a time!

More soon on this set of topics.  Lots to discuss!

Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
https://bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com
http://sallykwitt.blogspot.com
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. March 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    As you know, my 12 year old has Bipolar Disorder and Schizophrenia so I understand what you’re saying. Our goal for her is that she can live independently and have a part time job (she’ll always be on disability)…but we don’t really know if that’s realistic.

  2. March 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    So sorry to hear about your struggles. I am keeping you in my thoughts for the better days to far outweigh the bad ones.

  3. March 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    So sorry to hear about your struggles.

  4. March 21, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    Thanks for sharing this, Sally!

  5. March 21, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Thank you for sharing, I know it’s hard. Stay strong and keep looking for those happy moments 🙂

  6. March 21, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    Sally, things happen – think and act positive and more positive things will happen around you….

  7. March 21, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    My daughter had a friend in high school who was BiPolar. The ups and downs were always extreme. I imagine it is difficult to schedule life events and daily activities. Wishing you a happy day!

  8. Matt Shirley
    March 21, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Very interesting insight – not usually a world many of us get to hear about.

  9. March 21, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    My brother has a son that is bi-polar and he is living on his own, even going to college. He was in High school before they even knew he was bi-polar.

  10. emmageraln
    March 21, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Thanks for writing this. The more people talking about these issues the better!

  11. mithuhassan
    March 21, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    So sorry to hear about insight sally !! Wishing you all the best !! Be Cheerful as always !!

  12. March 21, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Sally, I think we all have issues with Polarity ~ For some it is obvious and for others it seems to be hidden. I deal with similar issues myself.

  13. March 21, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Limitations are hard to get comfortable with and living with disabilities myself, I can so relate. People who do not share our challenges tend to not “get it”. Thank you for your honesty and spreading the awareness about Bi-polar! Have a wonderful week!

  14. denniscarpenter
    March 21, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    You are a brave person. Thanks for sharing

  15. ransae
    March 21, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    Reblogged this on Ransae's Blog.

  16. March 21, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    Reblogged this on txwikinger's blog.

  17. Rick Clark
    March 22, 2012 at 12:48 am

    Sally, I’m with Dennis… this is a brave thing to do. I hope it helps you manage things in such a way that every day, in some way, brings you joy.

  18. TaxCoach
    March 22, 2012 at 11:36 am

    I think pet is a good therapy, no matter how bad the situation is.

  19. March 22, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Thank you for raising awareness of the Bipolar condition. The love you spread will come back to you.

  20. March 22, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    Thanks for sharing Sally. 🙂 I wish a happy Spring for you, filled with sunshine and flowers. xoxo

  21. DM
    March 22, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    Sally, I feel for you. My son is bi-polar, just diagnosed last year. he went for years not knowing what is wrong with him, and he also cannot work. Take care of yourself.

  22. March 23, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Thank you Sally for attention to this subject. There are so many people undiagnosed out there. My wife was diagnosed a few years ago and I was diagnosed recently as well.

    Looking back I can see it now, but the recent stresses of being unemployed really brought the symptoms out.

    Thanks again!

  23. March 23, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Keep fighting the good fight, Sally, And remember, everyone has limitations … many, unlike you, are just not aware of them … Hugs!

  24. March 23, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    I hope you have a lot more good days than bad. Enjoy it when you’re feeling well.

  25. March 25, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing, Sally. This is particularly special to me as I recently lost a loved one who suffered from bi-polar and ADHD. My 18 year old son took his life last year while he was visiting his birth mother in another state. I now know that when these two conditions co-exist, it is particularly lethal in young men. I share this information in the hope that someone will recognize that someone they know and love might be suffering and need help.

    I am glad that you have sought help and that you are making great progress.

    • March 25, 2012 at 2:14 pm

      Gina,

      I am so sorry to hear about your loss. Thank you for sharing in case someone can catch this in a young man that they know.

      It is so upsetting to hear the survivor stories after a suicide. To hurt so badly, and then leave such devastation behind is tragic.

      Hugs,

      Sally

  26. April 17, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    Your voice is authentic, and your story comes through clear and real, painful as it is. It is hard for certain bipolar patients to manage a lot–but taking pride in what you can do will continue to help you build your strength. I just caution you in one area–when you’re feeling so up, as great as it seems, it’s time to be wary. “Flying–Then Crying: Life In The Bipolar Cycle” at http://wp.me/p22afJ-ps talks about the danger of letting those good feelings get the better of us. Meanwhile, keep up the good fight–and the inspirational posts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

