Home > Misc > Wonderful music for today from CerAmony

Wonderful music for today from CerAmony

I love learning and meeting new people on the internet.  Today I did a “mission” on Empire Avenue by Kevin Megin @krazykanuckKM.  He was introducing the new video from his friends.  I was blown away by the video!

I had to learn more about these men and their talents.

The video is so relevant to my family and everything going on in America today.  This band was formed in the Cree Nation in Canada.  I love the Native American traditions and history, even though it can be quite painful to learn of the horrible mistreatment they endured.

Pakesso Mukash and Matthew Iserhoff were both talented from the beginning as children.  They are committed to the Cree Nation, and have in 2011 were awarded with the  Juno for Aboriginal Album Of The Year.

http://www.ceramony.ca/ceramony-takes-home-a-juno-at-the-40th-anniversary-juno-awards-2011

They are very close, and Matthew married Pakesso’s sister.

Matthew was hit by a truck in a horrible accident at age 7, and nearly died.  The doctors were able to save him, but did have to remove one of his legs.  His brother speaks of his amazing and inspirational attitude towards live.  Matthew’s brother is Deputy Grand Chief Ashly Iserhoff of the Cree Nation.

http://www.gcc.ca/newsarticle.php?id=111

Their Facebook page is http://www.facebook.com/ceramony.

It is wonderful to find such a talented and dedicated group with such an interesting history.


Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
https://bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com
http://sallykwitt.blogspot.com
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. March 28, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Very powerful singer, and personality. Thanks for sharing Sally:)

  2. Matt Shirley
    March 28, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    I read all the context before watching the video and I must admit I was expecting a much different type of music. But great to see all types of music from all types of groups.

    • April 4, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      Thanks Matt. I thought they were interesting and surprising at the same time, too.

  3. March 28, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Thank you for taking the time to get all the details about the band and sharing them with us, I really enjoyed learning about them.

    • April 4, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Thanks for the comments Karla. I love learning about people on the internet!

  4. March 28, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    Thank you for sharing the band bio with us, I really enjoyed learning about all the members.

  5. Rick Clark
    March 29, 2012 at 1:17 am

    Really great Sally. I have, for years, been a supporter of the efforts if indigenous peoples around the world and am so happy to add CerAmony to my list of favorite folks!

  6. Mitch Devine
    March 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Hi Sally, thanks for sharing this video. I’m also fascinated by Native American culture. (I think I was expecting traditional music after reading the bio!) In fact, I’ll be going to the Navajo reservation next month on a mission trip to New Mexico.

    • April 4, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Thanks Mitch. How interesting. Hope you share your experience in New Mexico.

  7. April 3, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I agree, Sally, “meeting people” on the internet is so fulfilling and interesting. It is like going into a candy shop every day!

    Thanks for sharing this post. I have strong Native American roots that I need to investigate further. You’ve given me some motivation to do so.

    • April 4, 2012 at 3:33 pm

      That is great, Gina. Thanks for the comment.

  8. April 4, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    You are such a kind, loving, and caring woman Sally. Thank you for taking the time to tell the story and share the music of CerAmony. It is indeed a powerful video.

    • April 4, 2012 at 3:21 pm

      Thank you, Joy. I am practicing using the “reply” feature on my blog. I always love to hear from you.

  9. April 7, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    It’s great that you took the time to share this with us, Sally. Thanks for the great info and music!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

