Home > Misc, Social Media > Always learning, pushing past my insecurities – questions for you about blog comments

Always learning, pushing past my insecurities – questions for you about blog comments

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have 2 blogs that I do for myself.  I work on others to help churches, ministries, and non-profits.  I blog here on wordpress.com and on blogger.com  (sallykwitt.blogspot.com)

I love to write and research and share.  I feel that I have found my voice and a creative outlet.  I love taking digital photos and video and sharing them as well.

After years, there are finally some online friends and connections who read my blogs and leave comments.  For some reason, I am shy to reply on the blog.  Do you get the replies?  Do you have to subscribe to comments to read the replies?

I know that comments are really important for your score on Empire Avenue and Klout.  Do replies count as comments, or anything else?

It seems that I have a “thing” about that, and I feel anxious.  I want people to know that I appreciate their comments so much.

1.  Do you like to get replies to your comments on a blog?

2.  If I reply to you as a test, will you let me know that you got it?

3.  What are your thoughts on comments and replies?

Thank you so much!

Sally


Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
https://bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com
http://sallykwitt.blogspot.com
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. April 4, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Hi, Sally – here’s an example of engagement for you: I followed your EA profile after reading some of your comments on the Mission cheating issue. I looked for a mission and decided to follow it. You really should comment and engage whenever someone gives that opportunity in your blog. When you increase activity (in addition to properly used tags and meta tags) then search engines can craw with much confidence in your score. Never be afraid to comment on your own blog: commenters expect it in fact. Hope that helps… 🙂

  2. April 4, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Replies are a great way to personalize the experience, Sally. I’d be up for receiving your reply … it makes the whole blog engagement experience less “robotic”. After all … that’s the “social” in “social media”!

    • April 4, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Thank you Matt. I am so glad that I asked this question today. Let me know if you see this reply, ok?

  3. April 4, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Good subject Sally! Though I haven’t had much time to evaluate this subject matter on empire. I’ve been to busy with business. But, it’s now more to my attention now. Thanks

  4. April 4, 2012 at 11:58 am

    Good subject Sally! Though I haven’t had much time to evaluate this subject matter on empire. I’ve been too busy with business. But, it’s now more to my attention now. Thanks

    • April 4, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Thanks for leaving a comment. I appreciate it. Let me know if you see the reply, ok?

  5. April 4, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    I love to get comments on my blogs and try to reply to all of them. I love when people reply back again and the conversation continues. Even if the commenter doesn’t always agree with me, I just like to generate the conversation. 🙂 You’re welcome by my sites any time Sally!

    • April 4, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      Thank you Lisa, that helps a lot. Let me know if you get notice about the reply, ok?

  6. jphaldar
    April 4, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    It’ll my pleasure to get replies to my comments or blog. Yes I’ll let you know. Maybe It’s difficult sometimes to get everyone’s view at the same time, but I enjoy it. Thanks Sally!

    • April 4, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      Thank you. Please let me know if you see this reply! I appreciate your comment.

  7. April 4, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Comments are very important to me. I have spent a lot of time to foster an environment in which people feel safe to talk to me. I know people say they want them to add to the conversation, and I do. Sometimes though it is nice to got those “good job” comments because it can keep you going.

    • April 4, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. Do you get a notice that I replied to you? You are a very good role model online!

      • April 4, 2012 at 4:34 pm

        Yep, Got the reply! Thanks for taking the time to do so. I have noticed that some blogger ignore responding to comments. Or sometimes from new comers if they are more popular. It can get tricky, and I don’t always know what to say. But then I think you just need to be yourself.

  8. ransae
    April 4, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Reblogged this on Ransae's Blog.

  9. ransae
    April 4, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Very good topic….thanks for sharing

    • April 4, 2012 at 12:50 pm

      Thank you for the comment and the reblog. Let me know if you see this reply. Appreciate it!

  10. April 4, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    I love getting a reply to my comment. It let’s me know the blogger want to be in conversation, which I think is important. And, of course I’ll let you know if I get it when you reply.

  11. April 4, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    (e)ABACNOK at EAv and I would like to make a suggestion, as far as your replies is concerned. Well, maybe more then one. 🙂
    1. I really don’t expect a reply to a blog post when it is part of a mission.
    2. If you are expecting more answers then the mission states, this should also be listed in the mission requirements. I will be spending a lot less time on EAv during the summer months, due to yard work and tending to my garden. That being the case, I would have passed this mission and left it for someone that plans to spend more time on EAv then I can.
    3. Never feel bad about repling to a comment. The person probably wants to know your opinion as much as you want to know theirs.
    4. I would never send a reply to any comment just as a test. This puts the other person in a place of being entitled to reply to you. Just keep it friendly and don’t expect any replies. When you do get a reply, it will be a pleasant surprise.

  12. April 4, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    i rarely comment, i love to read a blog, and like to click a thumb up if I like it, but I found a long time ago that unless you are agreeing and supporting the blog, comments can lead to unpleasant ‘flame wars’, so I just don’t tend to bother any more. ( I am sure that won’t happen on your blogs Sally 🙂 )

    The other problem is having to sign up to the blog to be able to comment, I really do not want to keep having to register just so that I can add a comment.

    I do read a lot of your blogs Sally and come back for more reading, but no, I don’t comment ! x

  13. john anslow
    April 4, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Comments add value and seo ranking so more = better for sure 🙂
    Personally I love getting comments and replies to mine 🙂
    Of course I will 🙂

  14. April 4, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Hi Sally,

    I think that sometimes replies to comments get lost in the shuffle. However, it is always nice to get them.

    As for Klout, blog comments don’t count directly, at least, not at this time. Klout currently only counts Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Google+ and Foursquare. However, because of your posts, you probably get more Klout juice because people post more about you on those five networks. Just an FYI.

    Gina

    • April 5, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      Thank you Gina. Klout gets frustrating for me sometimes, but I enjoy Empire Avenue every day,

  15. April 4, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    I always like to engage where eve I can – if i can be adding value – I rarely – add comments that JUST SAY ‘GREAT’ – OR ‘NICE’ … except of course on FB – but that is different IMHO – out in the blogosphere – engagement and considered response is where it must be – IF there is an opportunity to do that AND you have something valuable to say.

    • April 4, 2012 at 7:35 pm

      Always great to hear from my online friend from Hawaii! Thank you for helping me today.

  16. April 4, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    I write a humor blog and I LOVE comments! Knowing that I helped someone laugh, and they’re kind enough to let me know makes my day.

    Sharon
    http://sharon-moms-madhouse.com/

    • April 4, 2012 at 7:36 pm

      Thank you Sharon. Checking out your blog, too.

  17. April 4, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    I’d love to have time to comment and to reply to comments. I simply have too much work to do to be consistent. I’m always appreciative of comments and love it when someone replies to me.

    • April 4, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      Thanks Jeanette Joy. I always love to hear from you.

  18. April 4, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    Hey Sally, replies are great. It keeps the conversation moving. Sometimes I don’t see replies in a timely manner to all the blogs I comment on because Discus goes one place, google goes another and Facebook another, etc. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t pay attention to them. Go ahead. Write your heart out. I’m here somewhere.

    • April 4, 2012 at 7:26 pm

      Thanks! That makes me feel a lot better.

  19. April 4, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Hi Sally, I know I should keep my blog engaging and respond to comments but running around helping clients with their blogs and social media has me tied up, which is still not acceptable so I am going to get my act together. Thanks for the post : )

    • April 4, 2012 at 10:23 pm

      Hi Karla. Thanks for the note. Is everything going well in Florida?

  20. April 4, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Sally, I am a first time visitor on my way to sleep. I must tell you that I love to get comments because I like the interaction between myself and any visitors that may stop by. I try my best to reply as soon as possible. I also like to visit the blog of the commenter. I’ve made so many great true friends while blogging that them leaving comments is second nature.

    Don’t be shy! If somebody leaves a comment for you they want the feedback – they want you to reply. Mine is a personal blog and I have no clients so I’m not as tied up as some.

    • April 4, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      Thanks Tom. I appreciate the comment and your info. Take care.

  21. john
    April 5, 2012 at 12:04 am

    In my case I don’t always comment to a blog. It doesn’t mean I haven’t been impacted it’s that I have nothing further to add.

    • April 5, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      Good point. I always leave a comment if I want to support the author. Thanks for leaving one for me!

  22. April 5, 2012 at 4:32 am

    Hi Sally, I’m interested in knowing more about how you found your “voice” for blogging. I am not yet completely comfortable commenting or blogging and have yet to find mine, even hough I feel I’m getting closer the more I do it. I like commenting on some blogs and enjoy the interaction that sometimes follows, even though that is on a more personal level than on the subject. I have no idea of EAv scoring method or Klout’s or other social scoring tools – I do know that it’s fun. That’s all for now.

    • April 5, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Hi Tom. What a great question, I think I will write about that today on my blog! Stay tuned. Thanks for your comment.

  23. April 5, 2012 at 5:21 am

    I love to get replies to my comments on a blog site.

    • April 5, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      Nick,
      I always love it when you visit me on Empire Avenue, too. Thanks for giving me your thoughts here!
      Sally

  24. April 5, 2012 at 5:46 am

    I’ve been blogging for six years; I have four blogs, though three by design have very small audiences. I see that you’ve got a checkbox below your comment box that allows the blog to notify people automatically if there are any further comments.

    So I wouldn’t worry too much: if they enter the correct email address and click that box, they’re going to hear, unless their spam filter is set very high.

    I have a number of insecurities, but they don’t include Klout score or SEO success. I’m pretty skeptical that efforts on my part will change those things much. What I think is more important for me is to engage–so close to half the comments on my main blog are my replies to comments. And I’ll often follow a link on Twitter that leads me somewhere (like here) that I don’t ordinarily go.

    As for Tom Laing’s comment about finding your own voice, I think that comes in part from speaking. (The French proverb says “by smithing, you become a blacksmith.”) The novelist Elmore Leonard said in an interview that it took him ten years to find his voice as a writer. “That’s a million words,” he said.

    You do them a sentence at a time.

    • April 5, 2012 at 1:29 pm

      Great comments, Dave. I appreciate the thought and time you took with that. Glad you came to visit me!

  25. Susan Critelli
    April 5, 2012 at 11:03 am

    As Karla mentioned, keeping up with clients’ blogs and other postings keeps me busy. Sometimes, I have time to reply to every comment on my own blog, other times I do not – though I READ every comment. I don’t expect to get a reply unless I ask a question or something that does actually invite a response. i also dislike having to log in to make a comment, and often will not bother to comment if I have to jump through too many hoops. Great idea for a post – glad you got a lot of responses!

    • April 5, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      Thanks Susan. I am having fun with this post. It is nice to overcome a fear!

  26. David
    April 5, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    I know how you feel about wanting people to know that you’ve left a comment. Sometimes they can get lumped in with a lot of other comments if its a popular subject. I usually give it one last look through once everything has died down though, just to make sure i didn’t miss any suggestions/comments.

    • April 5, 2012 at 1:32 pm

      Thanks for your visit, David. I have loved this experience and feel much more confident leaving replies now

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

