Home > Geography Bits, Misc > Favorite Memories of Alaska – Geography Bits

Favorite Memories of Alaska – Geography Bits

 

 

 

Alaska is amazing.  America thought about Alaska more frequently in the last 4 years because of Sarah Palin, but my memories of this amazing state are from the mid 1980’s when I was a newlywed on the trip of a lifetime with my husband!

I will have to do at least one more post about Alaska, because there is too much to share in one post!!

This trip was magical and amazing.  I am an avid reader, and happened to choose the Clan of the Cave Bear Series to bring on that trip.  It turned out to be a great choice!

My husband was a Geography major in college and loves to travel.  He planned the perfect trip for us.  We saw a great portion of the state.  We traveled by plane, the Alaskan railroad, rental car, and the State Ferry Line.

Animals are very important to me,  and Alaska is a great place to see them.  The Alaska Zoo has a great collection http://www.alaskazoo.org/.  There are also wild animals in the parks and wilderness around the state.

Gwennie's Restaurant in Anchorage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Anchorage, we really enjoyed visiting Gwennie’s Restaurant.  http://www.gwenniesrestaurant.com/  We ate great food and met a lot of nice people.

 

 

 

In Denali Park, we stayed in a park cabin and got an early start to see the wildlife.  No words can describe the experience.  We love National parks, and Denali is at the top of the list.

Have you been to Alaska?  What did you enjoy there?

We went to the State Fair while we were there, and the large vegetables were unbelievable because of the long growing days.  Here is a video of a world record cabbage from 2009.

My friends at Insiderperks.com have a great introductory video here http://www.insiderperks.com/anchorage-travel-videos/


Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
https://bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com
http://sallykwitt.blogspot.com
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. April 25, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    Alaska is one of the places I have always wanted to go. I have relatives who travel there yearly and they can’t speak highly enough about their visits.

  2. April 25, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Definately want to go to Alaska! Beautiful up there

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      Thanks for the visit and comment!

  3. April 25, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I lived in Norway for many years which people say is like Alaska.. It looks wonderful and the snow is OK if you are dressed and prepared for it.

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      That is so interesting. Thanks for sharing!

  4. john anslow
    April 25, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    Never been but it looks lovely 🙂

  5. April 25, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Hi Sally, I grew up in Wasilla, Alaska. I’ve been back a couple times since high school and am going back next summer for my 20 year reunion. Alaska is an amazing place– the mountains, the wildlife, the people. I love it and miss it!

  6. April 25, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    This is my 2nd reply. Not sure if you got the first.

    I grew up in Wasilla, Alaska. I’ve been back a couple times since I graduated from high school, but not enough. I miss it. I don’t think I’ll ever move back. The weather and light/dark are too extreme. Alaska is a state of extremes, though. Everything is bigger and more majestic than anywhere else. I’ve never seen mountains like the ones there anywhere else. They’re breathtaking. I’m going back next summer for my 20 year class reunion. Can’t wait!

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      Thanks you Kari. I got both, but that is fine!

  7. April 25, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    thx

  8. April 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    thx nice

  9. April 25, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Never been but would love too

  10. April 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Alaska wait for me, here I come !!!

  11. April 25, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Wow! Holly Madison from The Girls Next Door in one of the episodes had visited Ketchikan, Alaska. Beautiful..Thanks for sharing!

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      Ketchikan is another great area of Alaska. Thanks K!

  12. J.R.Wirshing
    April 25, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    This Florida boy would only be able to tolerate Alaska during the hotest part of their summer. That said, EVERYONE that I know who has ever visited or lived there, has LOVED IT!

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:08 pm

      JR, it is pleasant in the warm months. Hope you get to go someday.

  13. April 25, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    I have a great friend who used to live there, I’m totally showing her your blog! Coming from TheBlogFrog.

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:09 pm

      Thanks for checking out my blog, I will go on over to yours now!

  14. Liz
    April 25, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    I lived in Kenai, Alaska, one summer when I was working in a salmon canning factory. Because we worked 18 hour days, 7 days a week, I didn’t get to do much sightseeing but after the season was over, I did take the train up to Mt. McKinley and stayed overnight in a hostel there. I’d have loved to taken a ship back to Seattle but I didn’t have a way to get to the town where you could board.

    One memory I have is getting off work at midnight on July 4th and staying up til 2 am (even though I had to be back at work at 8 am) because it was only then that it was dark enough to light fireworks. Even then, the light was only dim, it didn’t ever get totally dark at that time of year.

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Liz, sounds like a lot of work, but a great experience. Thank you for sharing!

  15. Jyll
    April 25, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    I have always wanted to go, and see all the wildlife and mountains. It looks beautiful ! Love all the videos !

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:24 pm

      Thanks for leaving me a note, Jyll

  16. April 25, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    I would very much like to visit Alaska and I can guarantee that if I do, I will blow up my Instagram with some pretty cool pictures.

  17. April 25, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    On one of my blogs, I have a picture of a glacier taken in Alaska.

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      The glacier’s were wonderful. There are so many things that I didn’t include in this post that are important in Alaska.

  18. April 25, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    It’s totally on my bucket list

  19. Susan Critelli
    April 25, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    That cabbage is insane! You don’t normally think about award winning vegetables being grown in Alaska. I guess I thought it was mostly ice and snow. I would love to see Alaska.

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:33 pm

      We saw vegetables there that we will never forget!! The days in the growing season get to be 22 hours of sunlight, so they just keep growing… Thanks for the note Susan!

  20. David
    April 25, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    I guess everyone wants to do this but I would love to visit the parts where its night for an extended amount of time. That would be quite the experience!

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      The farther north you go the more dramatic the length of the night in the winter! Thanks David.

  21. April 25, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    Never been but would love to go, ….one day:)

  22. Anita Fiander
    April 25, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I so want to visit Alaska! then Ireland…then… Great post. Love the videos 🙂

    • April 25, 2012 at 8:35 pm

      I know what you mean Anita, I imagined myself traveling everywhere in the world.

  23. April 25, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Fabulous! I’ve always wanted to go to Alaska. This post just whets my appetite further. Like you, I am particularly interested in the animals – especially those in the wild.

    I am a big fan of the Clan of the Cave Bear series. I’ve read them all except the new one which I recently purchased. I use a lot of Jean Auel’s teachings about ancient tribes in my modern tribes marketing strategies.

    Cool to get to know you better via blogging!

    • April 25, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Thanks for your note, Gina. Jean Auel is such a good writer. I felt like all my senses were involved when I read her books.

  24. April 26, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Awesome! I would love to visit Alaska… on my list. Sounds like you had a wonderful time, Sally.

    • April 26, 2012 at 3:46 pm

      Thanks Shannon. My husband and I always plan nice memories to have together.

  25. pk hrezo
    April 28, 2012 at 4:47 am

    Hi Sally! I still dream of the sourdough pancakes in Anchorage. lol
    wow that cabbage is unreal! Alaska is one of my fave places in the world. It’s a place I just feel like I can really breathe. Hubby and I wanna get a summer home there some day.

    • April 28, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Wow, what a dream to summer in Alaska! Thanks for your share, PK.

  26. April 28, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Loved Alaska when I visited 20 years ago, thanks so much for sharing :O)

    • April 28, 2012 at 10:33 pm

      Thanks Angelique. So glad that we met this week!

  27. May 3, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    Hi! I’m stopping by from the Latest Blog Post Connect Group. I hope to one day visit Alaska. My Grandpa was stationed there in WWII and its my husband’s dream to visit one day!

    • May 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm

      Thanks so much for stopping by Heather. I hope you do get to have a nice visit one day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

