Home > Being BiPolar > Being BiPolar – always having to adjust and scale back

Being BiPolar – always having to adjust and scale back

I have to remember to “take my emotional temperature” and reduce the stress that builds up in my life.  My photo is of a mother with child, but as adults we have to play both roles for ourselves!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anything can snowball into a bigger more stressful thing.  Volunteering is a wonderful thing to do, but it can get to be way too much.  I just had to resign my co-coordinator volunteer job at Moveon.org this week.  I feel guilty because I have skills, but I can’t handle it all emotionally.  If I could, I would be able to get a real job.

Social media online is where I spend most of my awake time every day.  I have to be careful, and tend to readjust things from time to time there as well.  Right now I am cleaning out my Google Plus circles.  There is only so much room, and I accepted thousands of people that I don’t know.  Now it is time to readjust!

It is so important for me not to get completely overwhelmed.  Bad things happen to me physically and emotionally, and I can be sidelined for months.

 

  1. May 4, 2012 at 2:13 am

    I think it will take us all some time to finally have our few main circles with like minded people, I have one circle that I allow people come in and then also go : ) I have some 300 people now that I like what they most and like wise +Abdul Rehman Butt in case you want to get connected or I guess we already are (e)ABDULRBUTT

  2. May 5, 2012 at 1:16 am

    I am more of a don’t worry be happy sort of guy. Life is too short to be stressed about everything.

  3. May 5, 2012 at 2:22 am

    I am finding that to be successful you need to surround yourself with like minded people, so I have also deleted a lot of FB pages in favour of ones that will increase my knowledge and hopefully lead me to success. I am hoping that by following these steps and making this the “Year of Me” I too will reduce my stress by simultaneously learning new skills.

    • May 5, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      Thanks Jodie. Good luck in your journey, too!

  4. Susan Critelli
    May 5, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    So sorry you felt you had to resign your volunteer position. I know you liked it a lot. But we do have to adjust and readjust what we have time for and what can handle. Don’t be afraid to unfriend and unfollow. There is no way you can have “relationships” with thousands of people. Mostly, they won’t even know unless you were their #1 fan.

    • May 5, 2012 at 11:13 pm

      Hi Susan. I will still be helping with the projects, I just won’t have as much responsibility and stress. I still have the lovely friends that I made. Thank you for your support! Hugs, Sally

  5. May 6, 2012 at 10:50 am

    I totally understand needing to scale back; I readjust all the time. And I used to run my own small nonprofit organization, so I understand the stresses of volunteering. In the end, I had to give up the whole thing so I could get my balance back.

  6. May 6, 2012 at 10:53 am

    I totally understand needing to scale back; I readjust all the time. And I used to run a small nonprofit organization (very nonprofit, in my case), so I know very well the pressures that come with volunteering. In the end I had to give the whole thing up to regain my balance.

    • May 7, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      Thanki Carla. I appreciate your note and your share.

  7. May 6, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    Remember to *breathe* and take things in small chunks instead of trying to tackle a large project. You’re a wonderful person Sally!! xoxo

    • May 6, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      Thanks Joanne. You are wonderful, too!

  8. May 6, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    I think it’s important for everyone to take an inventory of their commitments every few months. .. at least every year. Keep doing what’s best for you to say on track for your own emotional self. Big hugs.

  9. May 7, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    This is a heartbreaking issue for someone to have, I have to say…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

