Home > Misc > Marvin Gaye – such a talent!

Marvin Gaye – such a talent!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marvin Gaye was an amazing artist. Even though he died tragically in 1984, his music is still heard today.

Motown had so many talented musicians and singers, but Marvin certainly stood out.  He came from a troubled family background, had problems with drugs and depression/suicidal tendancies, and was killed by his own father.

Today, I wanted to remember him and his music.  Here is a sample of a few of his songs.  “Heard It Through the Grapevine” is one of my favorites, and he is singing it here acapella, so it shows his pure voice.

His story can be found at http://www.biography.com/people/marvin-gaye-9307988 and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marvin_Gaye

His brother Frankie died in 2001, and had done a series of interviews about Marvin’s life and death.  His experience in Vietnam inspired Marvin to write “What’s Going On”.  The interviews were fashioned into a book published in 2003.

http://www.amazon.com/Marvin-Gaye-My-Brother-Book/dp/0879307420

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you for your life and your music, Marvin!

 


 


Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/HowManyPlacesCanWeConnect
http://www.empireavenue.com/sallykwitt
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. May 8, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Hi Sally,

    Great post about one of my favorite artists which made me recall the night my friend and I managed to get into Marvin’s hotel suite after his concert during the heydey of his career in Kansas City, Missouri, in the 1970’s. It’s on my list for a story someday — and “Heard it Through The Grapevine” is probably one of my favorites as well. Have a musically-filled day!

    Love,
    Me

    • May 8, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      DJGodessa – what an amazing memory! Thanks for sharing,

  2. May 8, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Great article. It reminds me of another blog i recently saw Talkig about Motown. Pics, videos, Editorial. You might like it. http://ilovedetroitmichigan.com/best-of-detroit/30-forgotten-motown-b-sides/

    • May 8, 2012 at 7:38 pm

      Thank you Jason. I just went by and read that post. Funny, we don’t have to worry about B Sides anymore. I don’t know if you know the blog author, but I told him that you sent me.

      • May 8, 2012 at 8:39 pm

        Thanks Sally. Did you find any lost treasures there?

  3. May 8, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Thanks Sally, great talent lasts forever.

    • May 8, 2012 at 7:38 pm

      Always a pleasure to have you visit my blog posts! Thanks News.

  4. May 8, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Heard it Through the Grapevine is part f the sound track of my youth…

    • May 8, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      Hi Wayne. Thanks for stopping by. I thought the acapella version would really show his voice. I used that song for a number of talent shows because it was so easy to choreograph!

  5. May 8, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    Hi Sally, he truly was a great in the music industry. Like a lot of amazing music talents he died before his time.

    • May 8, 2012 at 7:40 pm

      Hi Simon. Yes, it seems like fame makes you more likely to die young. Nice to hear from you!

  6. Nicolas
    May 8, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    Thanks for bring back Motown music. I never heard of his song. But, I’ll try to listen them tonight.

    • May 8, 2012 at 7:41 pm

      Hi Nicolas, thanks for coming to see me! I hope that you love the songs.

  7. Ruth Hegarty, Creature Good
    May 8, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks for posting this, Sally. MG died the year I graduated high school and his music is indelibly inked on my memories of those days. Hearing his voice now makes me feel 18 again.

    • May 8, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      Thank you so much, Ruth. I was married in 1984, and I know what you mean!

  8. May 8, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    I’m a Motown Girl – So I love this blog!

  9. May 8, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    Nice post Sally! “What’s Going On” is one of my favorite songs of all time.

    • May 8, 2012 at 11:19 pm

      Thanks Helena. I appreciate the share, too.

  10. May 8, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    Marvin Gaye was so talented. The circumstances surrounding his death was so tragic. I remember hearing about it when I was in college. Thank you for this beautiful tribute.

    • May 8, 2012 at 11:19 pm

      Thanks Lisa. It is nice to have culture in common with new friends!

  11. May 9, 2012 at 2:21 am

    Love Marvin Gaye. What a talent lost so soon in tragic circumstances… Who else could do that song A capella!!!

    • May 9, 2012 at 2:39 am

      I agree, Greg. I would have loved to see him on an American Idol audition!!

  12. May 9, 2012 at 5:21 am

    Great post as always Sally :O)

  13. May 9, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Not really know him.

    • May 9, 2012 at 11:20 am

      Hope you got a good introduction from the videos, thanks for stopping by,

  14. May 9, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Great post and a super tip-of-the-hat to an amazing talent. Thank you, Sally, for sharing.

  15. May 9, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    I love Marvin Gaye !!! His music will live on and on!

  16. May 9, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Great post about an absolute legend.

  17. May 9, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    Thank you for sharing, such a great talent! Love his music! 🙂

  18. May 11, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    I will immediately take hold of your rss as I can not to find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please let me recognise so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  19. May 12, 2012 at 11:28 am

    His songs were part of the soundtrack of my youth. Thanks for the tribute. 🙂

  20. mithuhassan
    May 14, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Interesting ! Thanks !

    • May 14, 2012 at 7:34 pm

      Nice to see you Mithu. Thanks for the visit.

  21. May 14, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    A great talent, a great contribution to popular music.

  22. May 18, 2012 at 6:39 am

    I heard of him from the “How High” movie with Redman and Method Man, but I did not seek more info on him. glad you did this study and posted the clips.

  23. May 28, 2012 at 9:27 am

    This really solved my problem, thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

