Home > Misc > Don’t hate on me – but Disco was HAPPY music!

Don’t hate on me – but Disco was HAPPY music!

I loved going out dancing in the Disco era.  It was FUN.  People smiled and shared a nice experience.  Ok, a lot of them were drunk or high, but we all had a good time!

Because I was a dancer and an actress, most of my friends were gay men.  I went to the best dancing bars in the Northeast!  New York City, Boston, and Hartford were my weekly dancing parties with my guys.  We went to Studio 54  and a bunch of others that I don’t even remember anymore.

Here are some fun and updated examples of disco!



This one is for my friend Roger who passed away from AIDS a long time ago. This was “our song”!


 

 

Categories: Misc Tags: , ,
  1. David
    May 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    A part of me wishes I were an adult during that era!…lol (secretly)

    • May 16, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      Thanks David! I would have loved to dance with you.

  2. May 16, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Sally you never cease to amaze me with all you have done. It must be amazing to look backward to some of your memories.

    • May 16, 2012 at 6:07 pm

      Thanks Maria. I used to call myself a Renaissance Woman!

  3. May 17, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Funnily enough one of my favourite dancing places when I was FIRST a student (I’ve been a student many times since), was in a gay bar in Groningen. I felt more at ease because there was not the usual dance floor entourage of chaps looking at the women, so I was less self-conscious and felt free to dance the night away:)

  4. Anita Fiander
    May 17, 2012 at 11:08 am

    I just had a conversation with my husband about Disco the other day! Too funny 🙂

  5. May 18, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Haven’t been part of that era, but would love to!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

