Home > Misc > National Air and Space Museum at Dulles Airport – AWESOME!!

National Air and Space Museum at Dulles Airport – AWESOME!!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mom and Dad in front of the Stealth jet!

Mom and Dad with Sikorsky helicopter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dad worked as an engineer at Sikorsky aircraft for 25 years.  It was very high security, so we only got to see where he worked on family days.  It is fun to be with him around helicopters!

This weekend’s trip was perfect, and we had a great time!

http://airandspace.si.edu/museum/udvarhazy/

This was the second time that my husband and I visited the museum.  We wanted to bring my parents to see it.  We tried in December 2009 , and ended up being snowed in a hotel with an EPIC storm!  Everything was closed including the highways!

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/12/19/AR2009121900741.html

I really wanted my Dad to enjoy the museum with us, so we tried again.  So glad we did!

Categories: Misc Tags: , , , , ,
  1. May 22, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    I’ve been there… oh…. about 8 times, but who’s counting right? Great pictures. Glad you enjoyed the visit.

  2. jamiegall1930
    May 22, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Sounds like a fun time. I love exploring museums =)

  3. May 22, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    My dad died when I was 22, Sally, and I’ve thought so often that he’d enjoy this or that. He’d have been bowled over by computers and the instant access to limitless information. The space station would have blown him away. And so on. How cool that you got to share the Air & Space museum with your “Sikorsky” dad. Relish the memory! 😉

  4. May 22, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Hi sally, My dad was in the Army/Air Force. He repaired the bombers in WWII. I worked at Allison Engine Company. Sikorsky is a name I heard often at work. I also took flying lessons because I was always interested in planes. I’m glad you got to share time with your dad at the museum. My dad passed away 5 years ago. It would have been great to go to an air and space museum with him. But….I went to an air show with my son. That was cool ;- )

    • May 23, 2012 at 1:07 am

      What a nice share Marcella! Thank you

  5. May 22, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    That is a great story about your Dad. Very special how you got to share the Air & Space museum with him… Thanks for sharing that! 🙂

  6. May 22, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    A wonderful memory for everyone…and a very cool place to visit!

  7. May 22, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    That’s so cool Sally! I’m glad you got to enjoy it with your parents.

    • May 22, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Thanks Helena, I am so happy to collect nice memories!

  8. stewartb2b
    May 22, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Such a wonderful memory for both you and your parents! You are so lucky to have the opportunity to spend quality time with them. Enjoy more times like this one together!!

    • May 23, 2012 at 1:05 am

      Thanks, it is great to create memories together!

  9. stewartb2b
    May 22, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    You have created memories that you and your parents will never forget. I am so glad you had this special opportunity!!

  10. May 22, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    That was definitely and epic storm! So glad you have these beautiful memories to share. It takes me back to fond memories when I traveled with my folks. Thanks!

    • May 23, 2012 at 12:50 am

      Thanks Lisa, we had 2 nights at the hotel and it was an amazing experience. Luckily they had lots of stuff in the kitchen to feed everyone during the storm!

  11. May 23, 2012 at 4:37 am

    What lovely shared memories! Isn’t that just what life is all about Sally? 🙂

    • May 23, 2012 at 10:51 am

      Yes, Carolyn! Thanks for stopping by.

  12. May 23, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Definitely one of the highlights of my trip to DC.

    • May 23, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      So glad that you got to enjoy it, too!

  13. May 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

    That looks like some snow storm! I’m enjoying reading your posts – lots to catch up with but I will get there.

  14. May 28, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    Very good written post. It will be valuable to everyone who utilizes it, as well as me. Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

  15. May 29, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

