Home > Social Media > Take a Look at Your Profiles from Another Perspective!

Take a Look at Your Profiles from Another Perspective!

When someone looks you up on Google Plus or Facebook, they see a different screen than you usually look at.  I have been so surprised how many people are not changing their cover photos!!

You don’t want to look like you are new and un-educated in Social Media!  Take advantage of the new features as they become available.  If you are not sure, have a friend look at your profiles and make sure that you are not missing an important item there,

Here is my profile without a cover photo:

 

 

 

 

 

Here is my profile with a cover photo:

 

 

 

 

Cover photos are another way to express yourself, or to further your image.  If you are building a brand online – use it!

There are so many places to get free photos now for your wallpapers and profiles.

The photos for the Facebook covers are a very different size requirement, so you can’t just use the same ones for everything.

Do a search for “FREE Facebook Cover Photo” or “FREE Google Cover Photo” and you will find just the right sizes for each use.

Download the photo, and then upload onto either Facebook or Google plus.  Very easy!

Post that gives you a number of options for Free Google Plus cover photos –

http://tech18.com/188385-free-google-plus-covers.html

For Facebook covers, you can see what you find on  http://facebook-coverphotos.com/.

  1. Jean
    May 28, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Thank you that was helpful….

  2. May 28, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    You really seem to know what you are doing! I found you on Empire, but I have no idea how it works! Guess I have some researching to do!

  3. Donna Jeane
    May 29, 2012 at 12:11 am

    Nice presentation. Thanks Sally.

  4. May 29, 2012 at 12:45 am

    Thanks for the tip! I was missing a cover photo on Google Plus!

  5. May 29, 2012 at 12:58 am

    Reblogged this on Sandor Benko's Reblog Blog 😉 -> On to FireYourBossProject.com for full blog! and commented:
    Have you checked your profiles recently? I’ve just updated mine after having read this excellent article.

  6. May 29, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Very helpful, thank you.

  7. May 29, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Great point – some of the nicest FB timeline pics that I have seen are close ups of something personal to the page owner.

  8. May 29, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Am going to update my Facebook cover now I’ve been inspired! Thanks Sally 🙂

  9. May 29, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Just visited my Google+ and I uploaded images and updated my profile. Thanks for the gentle nudge, Sally! Such valuable information …

  10. May 29, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    I still have no cover photo on my google+ Thanks for the reminder Sally, I’ve got to get over there now!

    • May 30, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      I am so happy that my blog post helped, Angela

  11. May 29, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    I change mine a couple times a week when I can…I agree though that we need to utilize them, especially since Facebook is recommending 🙂

    • May 29, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      Great Anita, I love updated colorful photos!

  12. May 29, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Great reminder Sally! I need to fix mine and change them up again. Thanks 🙂

  13. May 29, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    I was really annoyed by Google plus using different dimensions for their cover photo, it would be nice if they were the same size as the Facebook cover photo so we could have consistency across our social networks. Thanks for the photo resources, I’ll take a look.

    • May 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      The same dimensions wouldn’t really help because your photo is in a different place, so it might look strange anyway! LOL

  14. May 29, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Hey, Sally, thank you for the nudge, the helpful tips and your general all-around helpfulness!

    Love,
    Me

    http://xeeme.com/djGoddessa/

    • May 29, 2012 at 6:30 pm

      I am so happy that it was helpful for you, DJGoddessa

  15. May 29, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Sally, These are good reminders. There must be a way to schedule this so we don’t get too busy to keep up with it. I agree that it’s a little thing that can make a difference.

    • May 29, 2012 at 11:27 pm

      Thank you Amy!

    • May 30, 2012 at 12:19 am

      Yes, Amy, there are a lot of techniques to plan your marketing/social media activities. It would be nice if everything was automatic! LOL

      I make a checklist, and I also use google calendar to remind myself of things to do!

  16. May 29, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    Great information, Sally! I love to change up my Facebook profile pics but need to catch up with Google +. Thanks!

    • May 29, 2012 at 11:32 pm

      Thanks Lisa. Looking forward to seeing photos that you choose!

  17. May 30, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    You just reminded me Sally about the Google+… still have to set up an account! Great tips as usual ~ thank you!

    • May 30, 2012 at 4:28 pm

      Great Solvita. If you have any questions, just let me know!

  18. May 30, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    This was a great post. I never thought of keeping this updated.

    • May 30, 2012 at 11:47 pm

      Glad that my post helped you, Donna

  19. May 30, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    I use the same, just resized to keep with consistency in branding. Seeing a blank spot is somewhat discouraging.

    • May 30, 2012 at 11:48 pm

      Hi Mandy, yes. That is great. Some of the photos are designed right or left, so for people that are not promoting a brand and using photos it helps to look at ones that are chosen for the platform that you are using. Thanks for leaving a comment!

  20. Neil van Wouw
    June 4, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    Wow! Can’t believe I hadn’t changed my Google+ cover photo. Glad I saw this. Thanks Sally!

  21. June 27, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    salutations like your work take a ganders of mine

  1. June 23, 2012 at 4:43 pm
    URL

Leave a Reply

