Home > Misc, Social Media > When you get the urge to clean and organize -fix up your online life, too!!

When you get the urge to clean and organize -fix up your online life, too!!

photo from kozzi.com

It seems that some of us are programmed to re-organize every change of season or so.  We move our furniture, dust, clean, and turn our closets inside out.

I do that for my online life as well.

1.  You can search out the twitter people that you follow that have not posted in a month or more, and stop following them.  There are a number of tools for this.    Companies come and go online, so do a search for something like “find inactive twitter friends” and you will see the current free services.

Good post on this http://geeklesstech.com/socialbro/

2.  Stop following people that are not following you.

I use htpp://justunfollow.com and http://wakooz.com.

3.  You have a maximun on Facebook of 5,000 likes and friends.  Any time you are nice on a website and click on the Facebook LIKE tab,  it is connected to your Facebook account until you clear it out.  Most people are asked to LIKE pages and sites many times a day.  Do you really want to be known as someone who likes all of those things?  Maybe some of them were a quick favor, and you don’t really want to be connected to that site or cause.

When you are on your profile, go to your Favorites.  You can check your music, movies, etc.  Then look at “Other pages”  under the interests section.  You might have hundreds of likes that you didn’t even remember selecting.  If they don’t reflect your values, you can delete them.

4.  Look at what groups you are in.  What do you use?  If you clean up, you might have more time to interact in the groups that you really want to be active in.

5.  The biggest one for me is email.  Unsubscribe from emails or mark them as spam if you have no interest in them.  **Update – Don’t make something as spam that you signed up for, unsubscribe there.  Marking something as SPAM penalizes the sender.  Only do that if it is your intention.  **  It is a shame that people add us to lists without asking.  It takes a lot of time to weed through them every day.  When you keep your email inbox pretty clean, it feels so good.  Use folders and filters (or whatever your email calls them) to keep track of emails that you really want to pay attention to.

6.  Organize your files on your computer.  Backup, archive, and delete things that you don’t need.  I use dropbox.com and google drive for backups.  I also have a 1T backup drive that I archive files on, as well.  You don’t need to store as much on your hard drive anyway, when you are using the online options for photo storage, word processing, etc.  Your computer works better without having a full hard drive.  Clean it up!

7.  Maintenance.   Make sure that you do whatever maintenance you need to do for your operating system.  Scan for viruses, remove spy cookies and bots, defrag.  You and your computer will be happier together!

7.  Keep track of all of your profiles with Xeeme.com!  Take a look at mine and see how easy it is to just have one place to tell people to go and connect with you.    http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt

What else can you think of that will organize and freshen up your online profiles?
Just for fun!



Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

  1. June 5, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Great post Sally! De cluttering online is definately a must!

  2. Kay Aubrey-Chimene, RMT, CPTI
    June 5, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Hi Sally – while I agree with and appreciate most of your suggesions here – please don’t “Mark as Spam” something that just no longer resonates for you. For those of us who publish email newsletters, ezines or magazines – each “spam” hit affects us with our email publishing software. Many times we subscribe to something to get the free report or access to a video, etc and then find ourselves not interested in the ongoing communication. Please just opt-out of my list – don’t mark me as spam!
    Thanks! ~Kay

    • June 5, 2012 at 4:00 pm

      Hi Kay, I didn’t mean for people to mark something as spam unless it is spam. Maybe I should make that clearer. Thanks for the note.

    • June 5, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      Kay,

      I added this to make it more clear.

      **Update – Don’t make something as spam that you signed up for, unsubscribe there. Marking something as SPAM penalizes the sender. Only do that if it is your intention. **

      My issue is that when you are very active in Social media, you get added to lists without your permission. The worst ones won’t even give you an option to unsubscribe.

      Thanks again,

      Sally

  3. June 5, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    Excellent post, Sally! I need to remind myself to clear out my email inbox at least once a week because I have a very limited amount with my account. It keeps me on the straight and narrow, lol! Otherwise, I am afraid that I would have thousands of emails. Great resources, by the way, I am going to set about decluttering the rest of my online stuff!

  4. June 5, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    Oh I need to do a little cleaning lol

  5. June 5, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Can you come to my house and help me 😉

    Great suggestions, Sally, and I did understand what you meant about Spam. You wrote it clear for me. And I did not know that. I’ve tried to unsubscribe a few times and some people make it really hard or it just doesn’t work. Then I do mark them as spam!

  6. June 5, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Several gems, Sally, as tools to get and keep things under control. Thanks for sharing them! I’ve bookmarked this article to come back and do a few more … I hit the daily max at Unfollow, for example. Thanks again!

    • June 6, 2012 at 10:07 am

      Wonderful Sharon, glad that I could help.

  7. June 5, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    It’s so important to de-clutter. You can accomplish more with all the clutter gone. Simplify!

  8. June 6, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Good thoughts Sally. It seems like things that are online just build up without you even noticing till things are overflowing one day.

    • June 6, 2012 at 10:07 am

      Maria, thanks for stopping and leaving a note!

  9. June 6, 2012 at 3:19 am

    Quite interesting post Sally. We need order in our ‘virtual’ lives too

    • June 6, 2012 at 10:06 am

      Thanks so much Enstine! I appreciate the comment.

  10. Anita Fiander
    June 6, 2012 at 8:46 am

    I am pretty organized with my online stuff too..It dos get out of hand sometimes though. I use Manage Flitter for Twitter organization. I also use DropBox and have just looked at Google Drive last week! Love being organized. Thanks Sally!

    • June 6, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Great Anita, thanks for sharing!

  11. June 6, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Great post, Sally. I LOVE Dropbox and use this tool daily. But I didn’t think about using it for backup! Thanks or the tips!

    • June 6, 2012 at 11:49 am

      It is awesome for backup, Lisa, and automatic.

  12. June 6, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Hi Sally, how do you know so much? I hardly use Facebook, but I do use Twitter and your tips will be a great help. Thanks for the reminder to defrag – I always forget to do that. I’m going to take a look at Xemee.com now – it sounds fascinating!

    • June 6, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      So glad that my post helped you Barbara!

  13. June 6, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    Great advice Sally cleaning up the social media clutter really does speed up productivity, I wish the Barney clean up song would work on my kids lol

    • June 6, 2012 at 11:21 pm

      Thank you Karla, I always loved that song!

  14. June 6, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    Great idea Sally, I should do a clean up of my email list.

  15. June 6, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Great tips Sally. Something I definitely need to spend some time doing. 🙂

    • June 6, 2012 at 11:23 pm

      Thank you Helena. I love to know that my posts are helpful or inspire you in some little way! LOL

  16. June 6, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Ahhh love this! I need to declutter more often.

  17. June 7, 2012 at 12:05 am

    I am horrible about cleaning up my online life =) I try to unsubscribe from email lists than realize how many I have signed up for 😉 its an endless process!

    • June 7, 2012 at 12:08 am

      I completely understand Jamie! Thanks for stopping by.

  18. June 7, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Thanks for the resources. Been thinking about cleaning out the Twitter account for a while –

    Leanne Hoagland-Smith

  19. June 7, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Did I see it wrong or are all your commenters female? Interesting!
    I am a very organized person in my business. I like to-do lists and have my computer all set up. Now my office is a different matter. But no one has to know that, right?

    • June 7, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      Hi Digger, I do have a lot of female friends. LOL Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  20. June 7, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    A good spring cleaning works. : D

  21. June 7, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Great tips, thanks!

  22. June 7, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    I loved this post. It is so important to organize online – and often too.

  23. June 7, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Great post! I was just cleaning up today! I wish there was an easy way of unliking stuff god knows I have a lot of likes!!!

    • June 7, 2012 at 11:40 pm

      Yes, it is a lot of work to do each one! Thanks for leaving a note.

  24. June 8, 2012 at 2:37 am

    You got me there, Sally! Thanks for the reminder to de-clutter, if only it were less time consuming. Better think twice before hitting the LIKE or follow button or subscribing …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

