Home > Misc > I love BBC shows!

I love BBC shows!

There are so many good shows present and past from BBC.  The writing and quality of actors is always amazing to me.  The seasons are so short, some just 4-6 episodes.  The comedy is brilliant.

I like to watch shows online now, Hulu and Netflix, with some Xfinity.  I like to have my own little marathons, and watch the whole series pretty close together.

There are way too many great shows to mention in one post.  I am always a little shocked at the nudity, sex, and violence that is shown on some of their shows.

Doc Martin – so good!!

Yes, he is a grump!  So was Gregory House, and I loved him as well.

I watched four seasons online, and can’t wait for the 5th season to come to Hulu.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0408381/

Of course there is Dr. Who!

The tradition of Dr. Who is long and amazing.  I really prefer the 3 modern iterations of Dr. Who!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0436992/

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006q2x0

I also really loved the spinoff Torchwood.  The last season done in the states wasn’t as great for me.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0485301/

One I just finished tonight, was The Book Group.  Really great character development, and so funny.  The season was 2002 and 2003.  You can see details here http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0276650/.  The American character is a very good actress, Ann Dudek.  She was on House for a few seasons. and was one of the real sisters on “White Chicks”.

Michelle Gomez is a hysterically funny actress.  She was in The Book Group as well as Green Wing, that started in 2oo4.

So many good shows, and so much fun.

Tell me what you love to watch on the BBC channels, DVD’s or online!

  1. June 13, 2012 at 2:41 am

    I like to watch BBC documentaries with Louis Theroux. You should check those out because they’re awesome!

  2. June 13, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    I love QI (Quite Interesting) but the only resources are not the legal sort, yet. You can find episodes on Youtube and they haven’t been taken down. I think that is because there is no way to make them available in the US without a lot of trouble with copyright. I am crossing my fingers that BBC America will just produce an all American version.

  3. David
    June 13, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    I’ll have to check some of these out. Also lately I’ve been watching LUTHER, its a crime drama that centers around a cop John Luther played by Idris Elba (thor, promethius, etc..) but he’s very good in it and there isn’t any sex, but there is some violence but its SOOOOO good!…lol Thanks!

    • June 13, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      Great tip, David! I really enjoyed Wire In the Blood. It got pretty grisly, though. I can put up with some of that for great characters, and psychological intrigue!

  4. Susan Critelli
    June 13, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    I have to say I prefer the current Dr. Who as well. My favorite of the three is the 10th Doctor. 🙂 You should check out my Dr. Who board on Pinterest, Sally. I also like Merlin, and I even rather liked Law and Order UK, but I haven’t seen it lately.

    • June 13, 2012 at 7:17 pm

      Cool, Susan. More that we have in common. LOL

  5. June 14, 2012 at 12:18 am

    The Young Ones from way back when and Benny Hill ❤

    • June 14, 2012 at 2:21 am

      I never saw The Young Ones, but Benny Hill was so funny! Thank you Jessica.

  6. Anita Fiander
    June 14, 2012 at 10:29 am

    I actually watch very little tv or dvds..I am a book worm 🙂

    • June 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      Thanks Anita. Do you read “real books” or books on one of the electronic devices? I am old fashioned with books. LOL

  7. June 14, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Hi Sally!
    I really love BBC as well especially their documentary films so, informative and easy to grasp.thumbs up!thanks for following me on twitter.GBU

  8. June 14, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    BBC is fun, isn’t it? How do they get that sense of humor that they have? I have always said the best actors are the Chinese and the British.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

