Home > Misc > Happy Father’s Day 2012!

Happy Father’s Day 2012!

It was surprising to hear that Father’s Day was not made an official holiday until 1972, when President Richard Nixon signed it into law.  I don’t ever remember a time when there was not a Father’s Day celebration, so I looked into the matter more deeply!

My research took me to a number of sites, such as:

http://www.history.com/topics/fathers-day

http://fatherhood.about.com/od/fathersdayresources/p/fd_history.htm

On June 19 in Spokane, WA, a celebration was put together by Mrs. Sonora Smart Dodd who wanted to honor her father.  He had raised 6 children as a single father.

Very soon afterwards on July 5, 1908, a church in West Virginia celebrated the fathers.  The church was Williams Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church South.  361 men were killed in an explosion in a nearby mine, and many of them had been fathers.

Popularity spread bit by bit, and the first Father’s Day celebrated in the White House was in 1916 by Woodrow Wilson.

An informal polling of friends and relatives told me that they don’t remember a time without Father’s Day either.  So even though it was not a legal holiday, families have been enjoying ways to celebrate fathers for generations!

I love my Dad so much.  I have always looked up to him, and I am so glad to be close to him as an adult!

Here is the video Father’s Day card that I made for him tonight.

 

Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

Take The 10K Challenge – 35 Min. A Day
http://bit.ly/witt10k

  1. June 17, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Wow ! Now that’s real dedication ! Hats off to you 🙂

  2. cdogzilla
    June 17, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    I was born before there was a (nationally recognized) Father’s Day, but my dad has been a dad for them all 🙂

  3. Nicolas
    June 17, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    Happy Father’s Day!

  4. fatfriaruk
    June 17, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    There’s always been a fathers’ day as long as I’ve been alive and I thank whoever started it as it was and is a time to thank the man I admire most, thanks dad 🙂

  5. Elisabeth
    June 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Well, that’s an inspiration – our father’s day are yet to come 🙂

  6. June 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    I’m a Methodist, and I did not know my denomination’s part in Father’s Day.

  7. Mike Sharadin
    June 17, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks for sharing! Did a poem on FB and enjoy the emotion you shared!

  8. June 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    That is a wonderful idea! Thinking about stealing it & doing the same.

    • June 17, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      Of course you can use the idea! Thanks for the visit, Lynn.

  9. June 17, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    I would have never considered either father’s or mother’s day, “legal holidays.” Neither are observed federal holidays, just as Valentine’s day isn’t, either…. so, I guess I never thought about it!

    • June 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      Thanks for your note Christopher

  10. June 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    well,- I had lamb chops from neighbour & first green salad from my garden

  11. June 17, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    That’s a very nice card you’ve made Sally. I wish your Dad happy father’s day too!

  12. June 17, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Great video Sally, Remembering my Late Parents! Thank you Sally!

  13. June 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    I never knew this was such a recent holiday! Great post. I shared – G+ – and Tweeted! See you on the avenue! (Secretagent)

  14. June 17, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    This is so heartwarming – thanks for sharing!

  15. vperriello
    June 17, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Good post and great video card for Dad! Hope you and he are having a great Father’s Day!

  16. June 17, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    This is wonderful, Sally 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

