Home > Animals > It is IMPORTANT to Adopt and Rescue Animals!

It is IMPORTANT to Adopt and Rescue Animals!

If you know me even a tiny bit, you know that I love animals.

Luna

Mickey – a girl kitty named for my Great Grandmother Michaela

I adopted our 2 cats from a rescue organization when they were kittens.

Buddy

This is Buddy, he is always looking at me hopefully from under the kitchen table so that I will give him some of my food!

I rescued Buddy myself when he was a baby puppy from the highway in the city. He had been “dumped”.

Mickey loves to stretch and sleep on her back!

I love dogs, cats, birds, and almost every other creature. Not personally fond of snakes, skunks, spiders, etc. I don’t want anything bad to happen to them, I just don’t want them near me!

The people who run and volunteer at animal rescue and adoption agencies are angels walking on the earth. Most of the time they make huge personal sacrifices to help the animals.

After Hurricane Katrina, we saw on the news videos that people were willing to give up their own place of safety many times to protect their pets. It broke my heart to see so many people forced to leave their dogs and cats as they were evacuated.

Teams of people helped to rescue so many of those animals, as well as animals in other situations ever day.

Exotic and wild animals have to be rescued from collectors. Wild animals are dangerous, and not meant to live with us in our homes and neighborhoods. It is stressful for them to be kept as pets.

Some people need love so much that they become hoarders. How awful to see when someone has taken in so many pets that it is unsafe and unhealthy for the animals and the people as well.

If you are going to get a pet for your family, PLEASE adopt or rescue that animal.

When you do, you are helping one of God’s creatures to be loved and cared for.

I know that breeders need business, too. However, we can’t encourage unethical “puppy mill” type breeders to continue. Please don’t keep encouraging them.

A lot of pet stores don’t really know where the puppies come from, or they lie to people that ask.

Go to petfinder.org to find a shelter or rescue group for the type of animal that you want and in your area. They are a wonderful resource.

You get brownie points in Heaven when you take care of an animal that needs your love! Well, I think so anyway – no guarantees possible there! LOL

Check out some really good friends and their groups here in our area-

Dachshund Rescue of Bucks County & NJ

Happy Trails Rescue – Morrisville, PA

Ewing Township Animal Shelter

Bingo’s Foundation for Cats

 

 

 

Bruce and Sally K Witt
Social Media and Ministry
sallykwitt@gmail.com
skype – sallylovesanimals
home office (267) 209-0558
http://xeeme.com/SallyKWitt/

http://122walnut.com
Take The 10K Challenge – 35 Min. A Day  http://bit.ly/witt10k
https://bruceandsallywitt.wordpress.com

 

http://sharefreeads.wordpress.com

  1. July 10, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I’m totally with you on this issue Sally! People need to consider rescue animals before buying pets from a dealer/shop but wherever they get them from they need to be prepared to look after them. (Rant over!)
    We have adopted the most gorgeous cat from the local rescue. She is so timid even 4 years on but I wouldn’t swop our Tilly for the world.
    Thanks for raising this issue Sally 🙂

    • July 10, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      Thanks, Carolyn. I am so happy that you have found Tilly!

  2. July 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    It is sooo obvious how much you like animals Sally; it rubbs oof on us. I have never been so much od an animal lover, just dogs are fine for me. But I sure do like to watch other people love animals; I jast wasn’t grown up with them. Loved your post

    • July 10, 2012 at 7:17 pm

      Thank you Olga! We don’t have to have everything the same to be friends. You and I share our Christian faith, and a desire for everyone to feel better about themselves. I find my animals to be so healing and therapeutic.

  3. July 10, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Yes, I know you love animals and so do I. I believe people that do care are a different breed! I have both, one rescue, a yorkie, Kaylee and a toy poodle, Gracie. I love them both and they are heart beats at my feet. I know that the next one, will be a rescue. I wish everyone would either adopt or foster but definitely not buy from a pet shop. God bless you for all you do.

    • July 10, 2012 at 7:15 pm

      Thanks Alexandra! Nice to know that we have all that in common.

  4. July 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Mom just got two new kittens and I’m so excited for her. She’s always been a dog person, but walking a dog isn’t in her program right now. She’s like a little kid on the phone when she tells me what they are doing now.

    • July 11, 2012 at 12:05 am

      Great, Maria. Cats are wonderful!

  5. July 10, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Awww. so cute! all of our pets (with the exception of the newest dog) have been strays. The chihuahua was my sister in laws for six years and then she “got tired of him”… grrrrrr… so we took him. He’s a sweet little guy 🙂

    • July 11, 2012 at 12:05 am

      Wonderful Joleene! Thanks for sharing.

  6. July 10, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Good information! It’s obvious how much you love animals. Great article!

  7. July 10, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I am with you Sally!

  8. July 10, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Such important, helpful information, Sally. My siblings and parents have all had rescue dogs (my folks – several) and enjoyed such wonderful, wonderful opportunities with them — it’s my plan, as well, when I seek my next pet.

  9. July 11, 2012 at 1:03 am

    Beautiful article Sally =)

  10. July 11, 2012 at 1:06 am

    This is a very important topic. As a child growing up, my family always had rescue dogs and they were the most amazing companions. Due to my youngest son’s allergies, we are no longer able to look at that possibility. : (

  11. July 11, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Sally your love for animals just oozes out of this page, I admire this very much about you. Back in PA I loved to go to the mall just to see the Great Dane Rescue come out and allow us to interact with the dogs. I know rescue centers don’t always have large amounts of funds to create these types of events but they sure are great. BTW I keep getting invited to this event at this local hotel where they have socializing parties where people take their dogs and have cocktails, I know this is off topic and I don’t even have a dog but thought I would mention it to you : )

    • July 12, 2012 at 12:34 am

      Oh Karla! We try to keep Buddy off the “sauce”. LOL. Thanks for your note.

  12. July 11, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    I, too, believe in rescue pets…and I am sure that Mr. Lucky (cat) and Sadie (dog) agree with me!

    • July 12, 2012 at 12:33 am

      What lucky pets. Glad you found Sadie and Mr. Lucky in your life.

  13. July 11, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Sally, I am so with you on this. It breaks my heart how so many think animals are throw-aways or torture them with no guilt. We have adopted rescue pets on several occassions.

    • July 12, 2012 at 12:31 am

      Great Donna. Thanks for leaving a note!

  14. July 11, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Sally this is so wonderful. I really believe in adopting at shelters and have so several times. Thank you!

  15. July 12, 2012 at 12:31 am

    Appreciate the visit, Lisa. Glad you have adopted pets!!

  16. July 12, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Wonderful, heartfelt post Sally. I am with you on this one. I don’t have cats though 😉 Just a dog and we love her to bits!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

